Tutoring With Anna

Tutoring With Anna

5.0

About this tutor

I am a former college professor of philosophy and currently work in the special edcuation department of a high school. We focus on Intro to Algebra, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, and I particularly love doing Geometry with student's in alternative settings (online courses, Accellus Academy).

I specilize working with student's who are in alterative learning programs or have special accomidations, and am able to use a multitude of techiniques to explain the concepts so they fit the particular learning style of the student. 

Further, I have an MA in philosophy and am particulary adept in assisting student's with research based papers, argumentative essays, and comprehesive understanding of complex issues. I also can student's organize their workload in a way that alleviets the overwhelming stress of multiple classes and competing deadlines. 

Lastly, I have a professional career in the fields of social services and career coaching and have helped hundreds of clients and student's recongize their potetential. That is my true passion and I bring that energy and care to everyone I work with. 

https://www.linkedin.com/in/ponsanna/

 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Richmond, CA 94804
Email verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When I work with a new student I like to get to know a little bit about who they are outside of school, e.g. what are their hobbies, do they have friends, what brings them joy?.

Then I get an idea of the workload and schedule e.g., are they in an after school sport, do they have an academic workshop period, are they taking 7 jampacked periods, etc.

Next I will ask them how their experience has been previously with the stubject, e.g., how has math been going this year, last year? What areas do you they think they are doing well at or understanding the most? Where do they think they have the most room for growth? 

Finally, what are their goals: do you they want to pass the class only, get an A, master the concepts, catch up on old homework, etc. 

As we start getting to work I like to create and plan so they know how much we will accomplish each time we meet and begin with a review of last weeks concept to allow for a time to clarify past concepts. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I work in the special education department of a high school as a paraeducator where my job is to work one on one with student's who are in specialized learning program or have learning accomidations. Further, I have a background in philosophy where I lectured at the college level and specifically studied pedagogy. Lastly, I have worked in curriculum development for nonprofits and as a career coach where I developed coaching and faciliation skills with a focus on trauma informed care. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My pricing ranges between $50-$100 per hour depending on the learning needs of the student and range of subjects that are expected to be covered during our session. 


Services offered