Miss Lando's Math Tutoring

Miss Lando's Math Tutoring

5.0 (1)
21 years in business

About this tutor

1.     Experience: I’ve been teaching students from preschool to senior citizens for over twenty years in a variety of disciplines and classrooms. During that time, I've also been tutoring individual students one-on-one.  Each individual, class, age group, and subject area add to my expertise because I learn from all of them and apply what I’ve learned to help myself and my students.

2.     Education: As a life-long learner, my education is on-going.  I have been either a student or a teacher in one type of classroom or another since I entered kindergarten, and I have invested much quality time, effort,  and funding into my own education.  I have degrees in both the arts and academics, a secondary teaching credential in math, as well as in child/adolescent development.  I've also completed the teacher training course at the Princeton Review for the math and verbal portions of the SAT.  I am a concept learner by nature, and I teach to the concept.  

3.     Philosophy: I believe in the limitless potential of all students.  My belief, which is supported by my experience, is that one student may excel in many areas and learning modalities , but all students excel in some areas.  Development is an individual process that is marked by specific ages and stages, yet individuals vary in their own, unique age/stage development. 

4.     Teaching Style: I have the ability to see the unique strengths in each student, and I strive to use all learning modalities to coach students in developing their strengths while working on their challenges.  My approach is holistic in nature, and I take into account and am sensitive to the whole person and his/her family.   I am friendly and responsive, authoritative vs. authoritarian.  Because my teaching style and the setting in which I work are more informal, students under 18 yrs. address me as Miss Lando.  I am on a 1st name basis with students/parents who are college age and older. 

5.      Curriculum: Unlike many tutoring organizations, during the regular school year (summer sessions are designed differently) and college semesters/quarters, I actually work with the material that the student has in his/her class.  In other words, I don't demand that students do extra worksheets and homework that are not part of the student's math class, but rather, I coach the student in areas of his/her math class that may be difficult such as clarity and depth of comprehension, application of concepts, and test-taking strategies.  All that I do is directly related to helping the student to better understand the material from the math class that she/he is taking, and to improve the grade in that class.

I do this type of work as a personal choice, and thoroughly enjoy getting to know each student as an individual and his/her family.  

One of my core beliefs is that education is a great equalizer. it can change one's socio/economic status, open doors that one may not have considered before, sharpen one's critical thinking skills, create life-long friendships and connections, and the list goes on.

I feel great satisfaction when a student at any age realizes that math is not only doable, but that he/she may have an aptitude that had not previously been discovered. It has been one of the great joys of my life to see a student graduate from middle school, rise to new heights in high school, graduate from college, and go on to a graduate degree. It doesn't get much better than that!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Hillsborough, CA 94010
Email verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Linda Lando

    I would highly recommend Linda as a math tutor. Linda is professional, courteous and approachable with both the child and parent(s). She answers questions in a very positive manner and encourages your child to complete challenging assignments. Both of my children became more comfortable with math and had not been afraid to tackle higher math areas, i.e. trigonometry and calculus. Maureen Conway San Francisco



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I specialize in basic math through second semester (college) or second year (high school) calculus, which includes those classes in between such as geometry, trigonometry—both elementary and analytic, pre-calculus and finite math--school-ages to adults.  And I’ve also worked with adult students  who may need to pass math tests or entrance exams for college, graduate school, or in a skilled trade or profession.  

I incorporate study skills and test preparation into my work, which can make all the difference for improving comprehension and performance.  


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Notes Dame University: high school math certification

San Francisco State University: BA,  humanities

Canada College: AS, child and adolescent development, ECE certificate 

 Princeton Review SAT math training 


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors College Essays Help Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Grammar Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Poetry Writing Classes Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Technical Writing Training Shakespeare Tutors Spelling Tutors Short Novel Tutors Vocabulary Tutors World Literature Tutors Writing Tutors