Harrison S. Tutoring

Harrison S. Tutoring

5.0
1 employee

About this tutor

I place an emphasis on helping students learn and understand their subject matter more intuitively. Whether it through be correcting mistakes, learning a new concept, or thinking about how to best tackle a problem, I give students room to think and apply new knowledge while being a guiding hand. 

I also tailor my teaching style to the needs of the individual. Each student has different learning preferences (i.e. theoretical vs. application-based, visuals vs. words), and I am happy to accommodate what the student prefers to help them learn best.

I enjoy being able to empower students to solve their problems.

When I was younger, I had numerous experiences where my tutor would either be very hands-off (only helping when I got truly stuck) or too hands-on (did not give me a chance to learn on my own). It is gratifying for both me and the student when they finally "get it," and I love the opportunity to help guide students to that point.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Oakland, CA 94612
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

At a high level, I want to first understand the student before really delving into the subject matter so that I can tailor my teaching style to what best fits them.

When working with new students, I seek to understand their strengths, weaknesses, and desired goals in a particular subject. I then observe their study habits and receptiveness to feedback. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

EDUCATION

I graduated from Claremont McKenna College (CMC) in 2019 with a B.A. in Economics. 

A part of the Claremont Colleges, CMC is a private liberal arts college located in Southern California with an emphasis on economics, finance, government, and public policy.

My coursework includes: Econometrics, Investments and Valuation, Corporate Finance, Calculus III, Network Analysis & Data Mining, Film and Mass Culture, American Religious History, Film and Mass Culture, and Leadership Development. 

RELEVANT EXPERIENCE

I am currently an Analyst at Analysis Group, an economic, financial, and strategy consulting firm. My work involves combining quantitative analytics and modeling with qualitative research in order to generate insights for clients.

Previously, I was a high school tutor for two years in a variety of subjects (math, english, history) as well as a Resident Assistant (RA) in college for a year. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Pricing: $25/hour minimum + travel expenses

Travel expenses include: gas, parking, ride share


How did you get started teaching?

I took on a tutoring job while I was in high school and found that I greatly enjoyed helping my students and peers work through problems. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Students should think about how they can best maximize their tutors' time and knowledge.

I have found that students who clearly communicate their strengths, weaknesses, goals, and study methods upfront improve much more quickly, as tutors can tailor their teaching style and time to what best fits the student.


Services offered

College Essays Help Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Cello Lessons College Admissions Coaches Driving Lessons Econometrics Tutors Economics Tutors English Tutors Homework Help Tutors Management Training Coaches Microsoft Excel Training Personal Tutors Private Tutors Python Tutors SAT Math Tutors Finance Tutors AP Economics Test Prep