Danielle's Tutoring Services

Danielle's Tutoring Services

5.0 (5)
4 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

I am a senior at Chapman University and working on receiving a Health Science (Pre-med emphasis) and a Data Analytics minor. I began tutoring math in 8th grade and I became a tutor at Chapman University in Spring 2019. I am able to adapt my tutoring skills to best suit your learning style. I am also very patient, have a really flexible schedule, and love to smile in order to bring a warm atmosphere to my tutoring sessions! If you need to change a meeting time just let me know ahead of time, and we can make arrangements to meet at a different time. I like to focus on making sure students understand, comprehend, and learn the concepts in addition to solving problems and basic information.

My favorite part about tutoring is seeing that "lightbulb moment" in students when everything clicks and they understand the material. I also enjoy tutoring because as a student who has received tutoring in the past, I know how beneficial and helpful tutoring is to a student's success. I love interacting with other people and seeing how happy my students are when I work with them and how much they progress and improve in school when I am working with them.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Email verified
Phone verified

5 Reviews

5.0

  • Monica Chavez

    She Is truly a dedicated educator with a positive attitude. She helped my child to better understand the concepts of solving math problems in the easiest way possible for him. He enjoyed their sessions and passed his class. Thank you Danielle, you are Amazing

  • Cli Scully

    Nice and understanding, makes sure you understand concepts thoroughly. She’s patient and is very good at teaching! She helped me so much with chemistry!

  • Schuyler Gieringer

    Very helpful and patient. Thank you!

  • Ally Hwu

    she was great!


Show all reviews

Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I require up to a 15-minute preliminary meet and greet on Zoom to determine if we are a good match and to align goals. The student must attend, and if the student is a minor, at least one of the parents must attend too. After the meeting, the student and I will schedule and begin our tutoring sessions. The first tutoring session can begin immediately after the preliminary meeting.

During the first session, I try to determine the student's strong and weak points and which tactics work the best. If a student is trying to prepare and get ahead for the upcoming school year, I will come up with a lesson plan that matches their academic goals and education level.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am a tutor at Chapman University and began tutoring at Chapman in Spring 2019. I have received an A or A- and/or a 4 or 5 on the AP exam in the subjects that I tutor. Currently, I tutor my fellow classmates at Chapman University in chemistry, math (elementary algebra - AP Calculus BC/Calculus 2 and statistics), and computer science (Python and Microsoft Excel). 

I also tutor elementary, middle, and high school students in all math and science subjects.

Since switching to online learning I have become a certified Knack tutor and continue to tutor Chapman students online. I have also completed the following webinars with the NTA (National Tutoring Association): Learning Preferences for Tutors: Understanding the Holistic Dialogue and Basic Level Tutor Training.

I am also a certified Red Cross CPR/AED/First Aid Instructor and was a TA in the course at my school in the spring.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

STANDARD PRICING:

$20/HR: Grades K-5 & rising 6th graders, ie. summer between grades 5-6 (DISCOUNT: $18/HR for 2+hrs/week for 2+ weeks)

$25/HR: Grades 6-12 for all basic middle school & high school subjects, except for AP courses (DISCOUNT*: $20-$23/HR for 3+hrs/week for 3+ weeks)

$30/HR: All college & rising college students, including AP courses (DISCOUNT*: $25-$23/HR for 3+hrs/week for 3+ weeks)

*=The size of each discount depends on the frequency of meetings & subject covered.

PAYMENT: I accept Venmo, PayPal, & Zelle.

CANCELLATION POLICY: I require at least a 24hr notification prior to each session, except for medical/family/other emergencies, and the session will be fully refunded, if not, there will be no refund. If the student is a no-show for more than 15min (for 1hr sessions) or 25min (for 2+hrs sessions), the session will be canceled. Repeated cancellations & no-shows will result in the cancelation of all future sessions. If a student would like to reschedule a session for a different date & time, I need to be notified at least 3hrs before the start of the original session.


How did you get started teaching?

I became an algebra teaching assistant in 8th grade and started helping students with algebra after receiving a perfect score on my algebra CST and continued to tutor math in high school.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have successfully worked with different learning styles including visual, auditory, and experiential learners in grades K-12 and undergraduate students.

I have worked with students in elementary school, middle school, high school, and college in weekly tutoring sessions for an entire school semester and/or in preparation for the upcoming school year. I have worked with multiple students at once and covered more than one subject during a tutoring session.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I also recently helped a student with his geometry course this summer. Prior to tutoring, he informed me that had been receiving D and C averages on tests and quizzes. After I began tutoring him, he started receiving Bs and As on his tests and quizzes and he continued to improve after each tutoring session. Three weeks later, he completed the final exam and happily emailed me to tell me that he had successfully passed his class.

I was teaching a brother and sister, fraternal twins, about basic biology in preparation for middle school. I looked at the state education curriculum requirements in order to come up with a lesson plan and then discussed with their parents which areas to cover, one of these topics was Darwin's theory of evolution through natural selection. When I taught them about natural selection, I had them do an M&M classification activity (based on the Bean Classification activity). While the sister waited in a different room, the brother placed a bunch of M&Ms on the table and randomly arranged them. Then he went to cover his sister's eyes and guided her back into the room in front of the M&Ms. Once in front of the M&Ms, I instructed her to open her eyes and grab the first M&M she saw, and then close her eyes again and repeat the process to demonstrate the concept of natural selection. Then they switched places and repeated the activity. After the activity, both twins were able to accurately describe the concept of natural selection with great detail. Not only did they enjoy the activity, but they were able to accurately learn the corresponding concepts.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would advise students to check the teacher's/tutor's reviews and profile to see if that teacher's/tutor's teaching style matches what the student requires. Even if there are no reviews, I advise students to look at all of their options and even meet with more than one tutor in order to find the best fit. I also advise students to check the cancellation policy, listed prices, and if it is a reasonable price based on their education level, qualifications, skills, achievements, and reviews.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Students should think about the topics they need to most help with so tutors can focus and help them in those areas. Students should also have their questions ready in order to make the most out of the tutoring session. If I am preparing students for subjects that they will be taking over the school year, I will prepare lesson plans and activities based on their education level in order to prepare them.


Services offered

Pre Algebra Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors College Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Math Tutors Statistics Tutors Python Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors Chemistry Tutors Anatomy Tutors Science Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors