General Education Tutoring And Homework Help

General Education Tutoring And Homework Help

5.0 (1)
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

Hello I am Vanessa Figueroa! I have a deep passion for working with children, teaching and helping others. I am 16 years old and my experience with tutoring comes from being a peer tutor at my school and having a younger sibling and a multitude of younger cousins to guide and teach. I may be young but that makes me ever more qualified since I understand the struggles of the modern educational system and how to overcome them, especially COVID-19 imposed online schooling. I am a junior at an extremely competitive college-prep private high school and am currently maintaining a 4.6 GPA, meaning I am a well-rounded student who can help your child in multiple areas of study in this bleak time! 

Being that I am also a tri-varsity athlete and have held positions of leadership in my sports, clubs, and volunteer work, I am constantly working with other people and have experienced many different crowds and individuals. Nothing makes me happier than seeing the people around me happy and successful, hence why I would love to provide guidance in leading your child to this state as well!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Lemon Grove, CA 91945
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Dominic Calero

    She really helped me understand math in ways I never thought possible. She taught me how new ways to study the content, and really helped me before my test. I had a 76 before and after her help I passed with a 86



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My typical process would be to begin by getting to know the student and their needs. Along with learning about the student academically, I would establish a connection with them in order to understand them personally and be able to efficiently offer them the proper help. I then would tutor them based on what they struggle with most and their academic history. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am apart of a club called the National Honors Society at my school where I am a designated peer tutor. I am a junior in high school with a 4.6 GPA. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Depending on the type of work necessary, my standard pricing system starts at $40/hr. 


How did you get started teaching?

I got started teaching by being one of the eldest in the family. I would help my younger sister and cousins in their educational journey. Additionally, once I got admitted into the National Honors Society at my school, I became a peer tutor for students at my own school. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students ranging from toddlers to high schoolers. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I wold advise a student looking to hire a teacher in my area of expertise to make sure that they look for a teacher with a good personality that will be able to work well with the student and keep the student engaged, motivated and enjoying the process. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

They should think through whether or not it is something they can find the answer to on their own or if they are truly stuck and need the extra guidance. 


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors