Tutoring By Sara

Tutoring By Sara

5.0 (4)
4 hires on Tutors.com

About this tutor

Hi! My name is Sara Selvaraj, I'm a graduate of UC: Riverside with a degree in Biology. I've been tutoring on and off since high school and specialize in Biology, Algebra 1 & 2, and Geometry. I love learning and hope to pass this passion for knowledge onto any person I tutor!

I strongly believe in creating a customized approach for each student because, after all, what works for you  may not work for someone else. In my experience I've found that the ability to relate the subject to real world applications can be key in engaging a student in a subject they otherwise may not enjoy. I seek to facilitate a deeper understanding of the subject so that the student may be successful in both their current class and in any future applications of their knowledge. My goal with a student is to help them really grasp a lesson, not simply pass a class with rote memorization.

If I'm helping with schoolwork then a general session's tutoring will be to introduce the subject in a fun way, then go through the lesson with the student to identify their trouble areas. Upon identifying these concepts I will instruct the student using as many methods and approachs as necessary to assist them in understanding the material and we would then go over any classwork they have questions on before proceeding to homework or questions/games to help reinforce the lesson.

If I sound like a good fit, don't hesitate to contact me with any further questions or to set up a meeting. My rate is flexible and as a general rule I'm available every weekday from 1pm to 7pm, weekends or other timings can be discussed, as well. I reply within 24 hours and can't wait to hear from you!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Gardena, CA 90247
Email verified

4 Reviews

5.0

  • Gabriella Rodriguez

    Excellent, as a teacher she give 100% my daughter was really happy and was easy for her to understand all the topics.

  • Monique Pelletier

    Excellent Tudor! Would highly recommend!

  • Holly Sparks

    Sara introduced a new way to work through the concepts that my son was able to grasp. We have decided to continue to work with Sara.

  • Hinnah Daryani

    I am delighted to have found Sara to help my son with topics he'd like to spend some more time on. She covers Algebra 2 and Biology so now he has a knowledgeable "go to" person who is patient and kind! She is extremely helpful and keen to understand what needs to be covered before the tutoring session. She builds her lessons plans based on my son's learning style and continues to work with him to track his progress. My son loves how easy it is to work with her and to have her explain things to him in a simple yet effective manner. He now understands these subjects that he was originally finding very difficult to grasp. Based on my experience working with Sara, I would definitely recommend using her services - you won't regret it!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

For schoolwork, we would start initially by going over any syallbus and material that you have available and discussing our goals for your tutoring, then during the session I would start by introducing the topic in a hopefully fun way after which we would go through the day or week's lessons together and I would ask you questions as we go through to gauge your understanding of the topic. You are also, of course, welcome to tell me which areas you feel you don't understand. I would then discretely teach you the areas we've identified and ask questions to make sure that we are facilitating a deeper understanding of the material. Once we are both satisfied with the lesson I would then have you move onto homework or reviewing old classwork with our new grasp of the material. If you need some more activities I'd probably have you either do a relevant diagram/picture or a fun jeaopardy-like quiz game.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I've been tutoring one on one and in small groups since I was in high school and through college as well. In high school I tutored middle school students as well as student in high school that were taking classes I had been particularly successful in. In college I volunteered with a club on campus that tutored weekly at the local high school and I would assist student with whatever homework or subject they needed help with. In this setting I tutored in algebra, geometry, biology, chemistry, psychology and did proof-reading of essays.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

For one on one I usually ask for around $30/hour, but as stated earlier I am flexible on rate and group size and this can be discussed over email or at an in person consultation.


How did you get started teaching?

I enjoyed helping my friends in school with subjects they were having trouble in, a teacher of mine noticed and recommended I turn it into a more lucrative past time and start charging for tutoring. It makes me happy to see someone succeed in a subject they were once stressed about.


What types of students have you worked with?

Middle school and high school students.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Definitely identify why it is you're seeking a tutor. Is it because you need help in the subject or because you just want to get ahead and be prepared for the next class?

What is it that you want from tutoring, more exercises/problem sets or someone to walk through the lesson with you at your pace?

Also, definitely be honest with your tutor when you meet with them, if you didn't do the homework for class or if you had trouble paying attention in school that day, that's okay, but let them know so they better know how to help you be a successful learner.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What is it that I need help with? (Homework, material comprehension, test prep etc)

What materials do I have that my tutor should be using as a guide for my sessions? (Textbook, syllabus, practice problems, old tests and quizzes etc.)

Am I ready to put in the work to be successful?

What kind of learner am I? (Do you like drawing/diagrams, do you like just trying out the problem yourself, do you prefer to listen to your teacher or read the textbook? etc)


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Help Tutors AP Biology Tutors Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors Geometry Tutors Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Trigonometry Tutors