Ian Brewer English/Physical Education Tutor

Ian Brewer English/Physical Education Tutor

5.0

About this tutor

I attended the Davidson Academy of Reno Nevada for 3 years and have a verifiable genius level IQ. I've been tutoring students of all ages and subjects for well over 8 years now, it's become a passion and a part of my life. I have a degree in English and Literature, as well as having studied Physical Fitness, Nutrition, and Psychology. I've been practicing Martial Arts and self defense for 4 years specializing in Eskrima and weapons training for self defense, with some training in Silat, Wing Chun, and Kickboxing. I've also spent 16 years playsing golf and was taught by LPGA tour pro Cindy Ferraro. I can handle virtually any subject thrown at me and I have a deep appreciation of the learning process and all of its benefits. Please feel free to ask me any questions you may have about me. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Pomona, CA 91766
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Typically I like to meet with the prospective student and if applicable their parents beforehand to ensure that I'm the right fit their tutoring needs. After that I typically like to spend time with the student discussing what they already understand and work into where the core of the porblem with the subject is. Sometimes it's as simple as not realizing there's a missing step, and sometimes it's as complex as having to start at square one and rebuild the foundation of their understanding. From there I work to ensure a solid understanding of the subject that negates the need for my services, I dont want my students to have to rely on me for their understanding, I want them to have the confidence to say that they dont need me anymore because they now know everything they need to be successful.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I've been tutoring part time for the better part of 8 years, all subjects and all age groups. With my experiences in collegiate level classrooms as well as turoing my peers I've developed an understanding of how to teach from the youngest child all the way up to fellow college bound students. I have 4 years of martial arts and self defense training, 16 years experience playing golf, 3 years of studying and a degree in English, 6 years studying Psychology, and 2 years studying Kinesiology. I began college courses when I was 14 and graduated high school at 16. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Typically I charge $15 an hour for any lessons, however the first meeting is always free. I will not charge in the event that I am not the right fit for the student which is why the first meeting will always be free of charge. Depending on the complexity of the subject, I may ask for more if it requires more work on my behalf, however I am wiling to spend as much or as little time as needed with my students. 


How did you get started teaching?

I was actually quite young when I started teaching, I began by tutoring a dyslexic 1st grade student and taught him to read and write properly. Once we were able to break down his dyslexia and target exactly where he was struggling, it only took a few weeks for him to begin showing major improvements in his reading comprehension. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of all ages and interestes over the years, and have some experience working with students that have disabilities as well. Though it not my speciality I do speak a moderate degree of American Sign Language and have studied child psychology for some time. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

English is never easy and always changing, it's what makes it beautiful and terrifying at the same time. You can spend a lifetime studying English and never master it, but you can still find the beauty within words and sounds. While it may look complicated, English can be surprisingly simple once you begin to break it down into it's base pieces. Never give up, and always keep looking for what you may have missed within those pages.


Services offered

English Tutors Golf Lessons Fitness Classes Mixed Martial Arts Trainers Essay Editing Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Poetry Writing Classes