Science And Math Tutoring By Andrew!

Science And Math Tutoring By Andrew!

5.0 (1)
2 hires on
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor


My name is Andrew and I am here to help you with your studies.  I earned my B.S. in Biology from Western Washington University, and my Ph.D. in Biology from Virginia Tech.  I worked as a post-doctoral researcher at the University of California, Davis and now I am a computational biologist at Firmenich. 

During my Ph.D., I served as the instructor of record for three years for a majors biology lecture course (BIOL 1105, ~250 students).  This included weekly office hours where I would work with students to help them better understand the course material.  This experience has prepared me well for helping students online, or in person, and I am really happy to be putting those skills to use here.

I really enjoy teaching science. When I started my new job, I no longer had any opportunities to teach.  Tutoring gives me a much needed outlet to share my passion for science, and help students better understand complex topics.

As a longtime student, I know how frustrating it can be when you are struggling to understand a topic.  I work hard to keep things light and fun and use a variety of methods to try and make difficult topics more approachable.

Read more about this pro


San Diego, CA 92126
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review


  • Laura Chalupa

    Andrew is patient and professional.

Photos & Videos


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

1) Evalute the students needs and goals.  

2) Come up with a strong plan of action with the student to reach those goals.

3) Work toghether to achieve those goals!

What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Ph.D. in Biological Sciences from Virginia Tech.  I spent the last three years teaching a 250 student introductory biology course at VT.  

I also completed a year-long Graduate Teaching Certificate as part of my degree.

Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$45 per hour for the first lesson.  The price drops to $40 per hour for reoccurring lessons that meet at least once per week.  More than twice a week is charged a reduced rate of $35 per hour.  I am happy to discuss further if you have questions or concerns. 

How did you get started teaching?

I served as a Graduate Teaching Assistant for five years at Virigina Tech during my Ph.D.  The first two years were spent as a TA for the "Principles of Biology (1115/6)" lab, and the last three years were spent as Instructor of Record for the "Principles of Biology (1105)" lecture.

What types of students have you worked with?

My lecture course was very large (~250 students).  I worked with students of diverse backgrounds, learning styles, student athletes etc., both in this setting and also during office hours.  I am also experienced working with students with learning disabilities from Virginia Tech's Services for Students with Disabilites program.

What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

1) What are your goals and expectations.

2) How often would you like to meet.

3) How will you evaluate if you are improving and if tutoring is helping (test scores, homework is easier, etc.).

Services offered

Math Tutors Linux Training Tutors Microsoft Powerpoint Training Microsoft Excel Training Microsoft Word Training Classes ESL Tutors Agricultural Science Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors AP Environmental Science Tutors Biochemistry Tutors Biology Tutors Biostatistics Tutors Cell Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors Environmental Chemistry Tutors Evolution Tutors Evolutionary Biology Tutors Genetics Tutors Life Sciences Tutors