"Dramatic Tutoring"

5.0
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

I specialize in individual tutoring profiles that address your individual tutoring needs. I specialize in elementary English and Math skills. I monitor your progress on a monthly. I am very patient and will help you accomplish your individual  goals. 

 I have worked for LA Unified for 3 years as a tutor. I have a bachelor's degree in child development and 12 years teaching head start students and occationally tutoring elementary students in basic english and math skills.

My students get individual attention and get positive reinforcement for their accomplishments. I am a very patient tutor and will provide tools to enhance my students progress. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Compton, CA 90221
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First I meet the student and ask what problems are they having with English. I than ask what do they wish to accomplish from our sessions. I ask what hours would be comfortable for them and where do they wish for the sessions to take place. Once that has been established, I form a lesson plan as a guide to what we will be working on and a progress chart that will be introduced in the first session.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have 3 years a tutor for LA Unified. I worked with elementary students in their homes after school. I tutored them in english and math. I produced progress monthly progress sheets and did bi-monthly evaluations.

I worked for head start for 12 years preparing students to enter kindergarten. I have two A.A. degrees in liberal arts and in child development. I have a BS degree in child development with a minor in Family counseling.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

When I worked for LA Unified tutoring services, the students were not charged. Tutors were paid $18.50 an hour, which came from the district. My standard pricing system is to be paid weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly. This depends on if the client is paying or the tutoring service is paying.


How did you get started teaching?

I started going to school for nursing and when my family status changed I starting taking classes in chld development. As a child, I have always wanted to be a nurse or a teacher. I have the opportunity to do both. My passion is now teaching. I am able to see how children learn and progress. I enjoy the feed back that I have gotten from parents about how well their child is doing in school and that it started with me as their teacher. Parents have voiced that their child is doing better in school because of our tutoring session.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students 18 months for age to students who have progressed to the six grade. I currently have worked with infants, ages 2months to 2 years of age. Sometimes I worked with students ages 3 to 5 years of age, preparing them for kindergarten.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Everyday is a recent event for me. My students are constantly developing. My toddlers can count to 5 and can sing songs and know some primary colors. Their language skill continue to develop as I hear and see them developing new words and sentences.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Look for a teacher who will adress your individual needs, explain what needs to be worked on in order to meet their goals, and someone who is patient and caring.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What do I want to accomplish from these sessions? How will I know that I have made progress? How long will it take for my goals to be met?