QuizMer Math, Science, And Engineering

QuizMer Math, Science, And Engineering

5.0
1 employee
27 years in business

About this tutor

Hi Everyone,

My name is Kevin Wismer AKA QuizMer

I graduated with honors in 2015 from UC San Diego with a degree in Chemical Engineering. During college, I conducted undergraduate research in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, and was listed as an author on two publications. Since then, I have been working in Research and Development for an aerospace composites manufacturing company.

From high school and even earlier, I have been tutoring friends, classmates, and anyone who asked in Math, Chemistry, Physics, and Programming (Basically everything that makes up chemical engineering). I understand the struggle to try to maintain good grades while having a busy life as I also played several sports in high school, and was working while in college. I enjoy learning and am still taking classes in whatever subjects that I find interesting.

I tutor all levels from elementary school through college.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Fullerton, CA 92833
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

It depends a lot on the student, but usually, I will just observe them work on some problems and watch how they make mistakes. I don't help right away and if they have questions, I don't always answer their questions, I will instead ask them questions to try to help them work torwards the answer themselves. I want to build up their fundamentals so that they have confidence in their responses and abilities. If I need to I will create new practice problems that exaggerate the mistakes or reinforce what they have learned. My goal is to show them what questions to ask so that they can think for themselves.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Bachelor's of Science in Chemical Engineering from University of California, San Diego - GPA 3.6

Publications

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Kevin_Wismer


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$20-50/hr depending on the frequency, urgency, and number of students for the request


How did you get started teaching?

Even in middle school, classmates have looked to me for help with their schoolwork. In highschool, I volunteered in more formal after school programs and also did some private tutoring for a family friend. Since then I just help whoever asks.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with all types of students, from elmentary and middle school students in after school programs, to fellow classmates while studying engineering, and even to coworkers learning new equipment and computer programs.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Near the end of last year, I spent three weeks traveling in Japan. It was a lot of fun exploring and adventuring, and I want to go back already, hopefully to climb up Mt. Fuji when it isn't so cold.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Lots of people think math and science are difficult to learn, and they are probably right, but I don't think it is impossible. I want to help you build up your fundamentals, the better you are at steps 1-3, the easier step 4 will be for you.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algorithms Tutors Analytical Chemistry Tutors Analytical Geometry Help Tutors AP Calculus Tutors AP Statistics Help Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Cost Analysis Training Developmental Algebra Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Discrete Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors