Math Diaz Inc.

Math Diaz Inc.

5.0
1 hire on Tutors.com
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

I began tutoring while working for an after school program in 2015.  At first I began tutoring for the extra money, but the more I did it I realized how much I was enjoying working with students.  Another realization is how well I connected with them.  When I was their age, I also struggled with math.  This gave me the patience and understanding to help them.  In addition, it makes it easier for me to pinpoint their weakness and common mistakes that come with math.  

I like to teach my students by making them understand how math works rather than memorizing steps.  This allows the students to tackle a problem they have not been exposed to, instead of yielding without trying.  

Currently I am working on a Electrical Engineering Bachelor degree at CSULA.

What I enjoy is the satisfaction they aquire from finally understanding a concept or concepts that have been troubling from the start.  It is at the point that they build up the confidence and acknowledgement that they can master something difficult with hard work.  Another aspect I enjoy is when I learn from the student, it only broadens my perspective on methods to teach math.  

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Alhambra, CA 91803
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to start assessing the student on how well they know the subject or specific lesson by questioning their understanding and assigning them a few problems.  From there I correct their work, and then bring up any mistakes I encounter.  Instead of showing them how it's done correctly, I like to pick their brain first on why they felt it was right.  This allows me figure out any misunderstandings or habits they've picked up from a class.    


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am currently a electrical engineering student who has taken many math classes and still applying what I learn from those classes in my upper division course. 

I have worked at an after school program. 

Most of my experience comes from being a private math tutor for 3 years.  


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge a standard rate of $30/hr.  this rate may change if its for SAT (math only).


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with students of varying ages from 6-23 year olds, and varying levels from low to high understanding of math.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Most recent fond event I have experience was when a student of mind shouted excitedly, "I get it!"  We have been working hard on linear equations so seeing him excited once it clicked for him definately put a smile on my face.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Find someone that makes you feel comfortable but most importantly ensure that you are learning.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Ask yourself: "Am I trying to learn the material?", "Am I studying enough?", "Am I attempting to fix my mistakes?"  Teachers are more willing to help you when they see that you are attemting to improve yourself.  Try to understand it on your own first, if it is still hard to understand then seek for help.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Help Tutors Analytical Chemistry Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors