Math Tutoring For Middle School To College Level

Math Tutoring For Middle School To College Level

5.0 (1)
2 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I aim to provide affordable tutoring for almost all mathematics subjects, from the basics to college level calculus courses or higher. I am very adaptable to different learning styles, and I can quickly your strengths and weaknesses on a given subject, and I like to explain concepts using intuition rather than just step-by-step instructions on how to solve specific problems. I like to start my first tutoring session by spending a few minutes just learning about you, and not necessarily talking about math. This way, I can get an understanding of your future goals, and how you generally like to study and learn. I will do my best to create a very productive yet low-stress learning environment by structuring the material to fit your particular learning style and desired pace and structure. I am extremely passionate about teaching, and I will make sure you gain an increased confidence and deeper understanding of mathematics.

I have a Bachelors in Science in both Mathematics and Computer Science from the University of Minnesota, and I have studied mathematics up to the graduate level. I also have previous experience teaching math concepts as a TA and as a private Tutor.

I have always loved teaching, and have worked as a TA for courses in both mathematics and computer science. I find it exciting to challenge myself to find new ways to explain particular concepts, because it can help both the student and the teacher to understand the concept at a deeper level, and can highlight connections to other concepts. 

My favorite part of teaching is getting difficult concepts to "click", and seeing the student feel more confident about a topic they were struggling with. It is very satisfying to have the student be able to explain the learned concept to me as confidently as if they were teaching it themselves.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Tucson, AZ 85719
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Lauri Kaye

    Robert is super! We got a lot of good people to choose from.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I usually start by assessing where the student is at in terms of subject confidence, and I try to figure out their learning style. I will ask a lot of questions, both about their understanding in general, as well as question on specific problems, so that I can see how they work through solutions. After the first session, I will typically have a good idea of where to start with the next session, and how to structure remaining sessions.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I graduate in May 2019 from the University of Minnesota with a Bachelors in Science in Mathematics, and a Bachelors in Science in Computer Science. I worked as a Teaching assistant for an introductory programming course, and as a Teaching Assistant for college pre-calculus. I have also voluntarily tutored other subject areas like college algebra and Calculus during my free time in my office hours, and I have worked as a private tutor for many different mathematics subject areas on an online tutoring platform similar to Tutors.com. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I wan't to be as up-front as possible with pricing. I will provide online video-call based tutoring with prices based on the level of the subject involved:

Elementary School math: $25/hr

Middle School math: $25/hr

High School math (algebra 1 and 2, geometry, trig, pre-calc, AP calculus): $35/hr

College level (Calculus 1, 2, 3, Introductory Linear Algebra): $40/hr

Advanced mathematics topics (Proof techniques, Abstract Algebra, Advanced Linear Algebra, Basic Topology, Introductory real analysis, discrete mathematics): $45/hr

Basic programming in python, java, or C: $30/hr


How did you get started teaching?

I have always loved teaching and explaining concepts to people. My first work experience with teaching was as a TA for an introductory programming course in Python. Later, I worked as a TA for college precalculus. I truly loved both of these positions, and I found it very exciting to be teaching and explaining concepts that I had previously learned. I hope that I can apply my passion and experience for teaching to private tutoring lessons.


What types of students have you worked with?

The students that I have worked with were mostly college students taking a college pre-calculus, and an introductory programming course. I worked closely with these students for an entire semester, and saw many different learning styles and mathematical backgrounds. Previously working as a private tutor online I have had students of many ages ranging from middle school to graduate students. Most of these students are just taking required math courses, but I have also worked with graduate students who are working on slightly more advanced math topics that are outside of their immediate speciality, that they need to take for various reasons.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algorithms Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Developmental Algebra Tutors Discrete Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Finite Mathematics Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors