Elementary School Through College Level Math Tutoring

Elementary School Through College Level Math Tutoring

5.0 (3)
2 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee

About this tutor

Do you or your student have trouble grasping concepts in math? Do you feel like you need a refresher in math over the summer? Do you need help preparing for entrance exams or standardized tests? Do you need help with summer classes?

My name is Jessica, and I am a Senior at The University of Arizona. I am studying Mathematics and Physics, and would love to help you or your student become more confident with math.

I have always loved helping students succeed. At the end of May 2019, I began working at Lindamood-Bell learning processes. After recieving 40 hours of training, I spent the summer working one-on-one to help students succeed in reading and comprehension. I learned how to create a positive learning environment, how to adapt to student difficulties, and how to efficiently implement hourly lesson plans. When I returned to the University of Arizona in August of 2019, I began to work as an Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Math 100. Math 100 is a program for incoming freshmen. It is designed to get students up to speed with the math they will need to know throughout college. Throughout the past school year, I have learned to analyze students work to gauge their potential misconceptions, to guide students through math concepts, as well as helping students achieve success in understanding the concepts.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Peoria, AZ 85381
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Emilio Arenas

    Jessica is my tutor. I'm a 14-year old boy who would rather play soccer than do math. Nonetheless, I know I need extra help with math, and Jessica has been very good to me. She cares about me, and thanks to her I can understand math much better than before. Thank you, Jessica!

  • Veronica Reyes

    She is very good at explaining things, she has a lot of patience and she was able to connect with my daughter since the beginning. Jessica has being a life savor since distance learning started.

  • Tico Arenas

    Jessica is the tutor of my 14-year-old son, and Jessica does a fantastic job! My son, who hates math, requires someone who is incredibly patient with him. I tried teaching my son and it was a disaster. Jessica, on the contrary, is incredibly patient and kind, and my son has been open to going to all the tutoring sessions without complaint (and of course, due to COVID-19, they have been meeting via zoom without much problem).. Congratulations, Jessica, for winning over a teenager!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, I work with the student or parent to learn the student's goals and challenges. Then, we collaborate to come up with a plan for what to do during our sessions. At the beginning of the first session, I like to take some time to learn a little bit the student. I ask what they think of their math class or homework. This helps me to meet the student where they are. Once we get started with their homework, I let the student take the lead. I try to get a sense of how much they can do so that I can help them through the specific places where they get stuck. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

This fall, I will be a Senior at the University of Arizona. I am pursuing a Bachelors of Science in Mathematics, with a minor in Physics. I have taken extensive math courses, which have helped me to understand familiar mathematical concepts in a new light. Additionally, I have recieved extensive professional tutoring training. In May of 2019, I began working at Lindamood-Bell learning processes, where I recieved 40 hours of training in two intensive learning programs. This training focused on questioning students, creating a positive learning environment, providing positive feedback, and implementing specific reading programs. I also recieved over 10 hours professional training to be an Undergraduate Teaching Assistant at my university. Throughout this training, I learned how to guide students through mathematical concepts, engage groups of 4-6 students, and build student confidence. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My rate for online and in person tutoring is $25.00/hour.


How did you get started teaching?

My first experience tutoring other students was when I was a Junior in Highschool. After school, I volunteered twice per week at the library to help students with their math and science homework. Throughout the beginning of college, I loved tutoring my friends. My first professional teaching job was as a Clinician at Lindamood-bell learning processes. Throughout the summer of 2019, I worked with students who had learning challenges, and helped them with their reading and comprehension skills. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students as young as 6 years old, throughout all ages up to adults. At Lindamood-Bell, I worked with students on the spectrum, students with ADHD, and students with dyslexia. I have also worked extensively with college students who struggle with math. Additionally, I have experience providing one-on-one tutoring to 11-13 year old students.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors