Alexis M. Romo Tutoring

Alexis M. Romo Tutoring

5.0

About this tutor

I currently work as an English Language Arts Paraprofessional at a charter high school but I have experience working with students aged 2-18 years old. I have just embarked on my teaching career, but I have a background in mental health and mentoring. I am currently working on getting into grad school so I may earn my master's degree in English so I can become a creative writing teacher.

I studied Psychology and Philosophy at the Univesity of Arizona, both of which are incredibly challenging fields. Both require lots of writing, reading, research, and critical thinking skills, all of which I can help you develop. I also enjoy creative writing, writing mostly poetry and prose, but I have experience with virtually all genres of writing. 

My goal is to make sure that we met YOUR goals and help you develop the skills that will not only help you with your classes, but will aid you later in your academic and professional career. 

I love writing and reading and having the opportunity to teach the things I love. I love working individually with students and helping them realize what they're truly capable of makes me so incredibly proud and happy!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Tucson, AZ 85710
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to first discuss your goals and what you need the most help with. I believe all students benefit from an individualized approach since we all have different goals, strengths, and weaknesses. 

Once I know what your goals are, we will create a plan together to help you achieve them. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I earned my Bachelor's Degree from the University of Arizona, majoring in Psychology and minoring in Philosophy. Both are incredibly intensive fields, requiring lots of writing, reading, researching, and critical thinking skills. I am also currently working on earning a Graduate Certificate in Professional Poetry Writing from the University of Denver. In addition, I'm working on getting into grad school so I may earn my Master's Degree in English so I can become a creative writing teacher. 

I currently work as an English Language Arts Paraprofessional, working primarily with sophomores. I also have a background in mental health and mentoring, having worked with kids between the ages of 2-17. 

I am also an author, having self-published three collections of poetry and prose. I also share pieces of my creative writing on social media and continue to work on publishing more books.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Standard pricing for tutoring sessions is $17 per hour.  Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions on pricing. 


How did you get started teaching?

I've always loved the idea of teaching since I love school and learning new things. My favorite part about teaching is working with students one-on-one, as I can learn more about them individually and can dedicate more time and attention to them.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Some questions to consider answering prior to meeting with your teacher and/or tutor:


• What are your goals (both academically and personally)?

• What are some of your strengths and weaknesses?

• What's a study habit you wish to break and/or gain? 
• How much time are you willling and able to dedicate for tutoring? 


Services offered

English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Poetry Writing Classes Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Technical Writing Training