T & J Tutoring

T & J Tutoring

5.0 (4)
4 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

It's important to me that a student learn the best way for him/her.  I adapt my lessons to the student's needs.

I love seeing students have what I call "the ah-ha moment."  Seeing a student truly understand a concept for the first time is satisfying.  I also enjoy seeing students reach or exceed their goals. Those moments stay with a student forever.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Inman, SC 29349
Email verified
Phone verified

4 Reviews

5.0

  • Michelle Keely

    Tabitha is working with my daughter helping her to become more proficient in math and english for the nursing program entrance exam. The higher the points the better in that competitive world! Tabitha is EXCELLENT at what she does. She is kind and patient with questions and really helping my daughter to get a good handle on some of the "fuzzy" areas. During this new reality with Covid 19 they are working together over the computer. She has MANY worksheets that she shares for practice. She is personable and easy to talk to. I would highly recommend her for individuals of ANY age. We're thankful to have found her!

  • Michelle Keely

  • Tanya Jackson

    My daughter and I met with Tabitha and I was very pleased. She and my daughter spent time getting to know where she is and where she needed to be. She spent time working with my daughter on a problem she was currently working on and we were able to see that this would be a good match. I look forward to seeing the improvements in my daughter’s grades and confidence. Will update as we progress.

  • Bernice Nona

    She takes her time and makes sure you understand the material. She even uses mnemonics to help you remember things and that helped me on my tests.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to ask the student questions to get an idea of what foundational concepts he/she is comfortable with and how he/she learns.  This really helps me to adapt how I teach to the student's individual needs.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I received my Bachelors Degree in Secondary Education-Mathematics.

I have a current license to teach Math grades 7-12 in SC.  I have been licensed since 2010.

I have over 10 years of teaching and tutoring experience.  With this experience, I have also become SAT/ACT Prep certified.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $50/hour for all test prep courses (SAT, ACT, etc).

I charge $30/hour for all other subjects.


How did you get started teaching?

When I was in high school, I recognized that most of my teachers just taught formulas and didn't explain why they work.  So I had to teach myself.  That motivated me to become a teacher: it is my goal to SHOW the student why math works.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of all ages: Kindergarten through college level

Some of the students I have worked with have ADD, ADHD, Autism, and Dysgraphia.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Probability Tutors Trigonometry Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Homework Help Tutors Private Tutors Summer Tutors ACT Prep Tutors ACT English Tutors ACT Math Help Tutors