Mrs. Abram's Elementary & Special Education Tutoring Services K-6

Mrs. Abram's Elementary & Special Education Tutoring Services K-6

5.0
1 employee
25 years in business

About this tutor

Hi! I'm Mrs. Abrams.  I have been teaching 3rd Grade in the Spring-Ford Area School District for the past 19 years.  I have been tutoring in all subjects K-6th for over 15 years.  I have my Bachelor of Science and certifications in Nursery-3rd, Elementary K-6th, and Special Education K-12th. I have my Master's degree in Technology Integration.  I taught Early Childhood Special Education at KenCrest Services for several years.  I also taught 6th, 7th, and 8th-grade part-time Learning Support.  Language Arts and Math are my favorite subjects to teach.  I love tutoring because I can see the progress that a student makes as a result of tutoring.  I enjoy watching their self-confidence increase when they improve their grades in school.  It's very gratifying!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Royersford, PA 19468
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first get background information on the student.  I talk to parents and teachers of the child.  My first session is to introduce myself and get to know my new student.  I would conduct formal and informal assessments to see where I need to start my lessons.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have 19 years experience teaching Elementary School.  I have over 15 years of tutoring experience.  I have training in Elementary and Special Education.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $45.00 for the hour.  The last 5-10 minutes I usually go over progress during the session with the parent(s) and discuss goals for next session.  


How did you get started teaching?

Ever since I was a young child, I knew I wanted to be a teacher.  I played "school" when I was young.  I have always had a natural ability with children.  I started babysitting when I was 13 and then did work study in high school where I did academic classes in the morning and then worked at a Nursery/Elementary School in the afternoon.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students ranging in age from 3 - 14 years. I have worked with all types of special needs including hydrocephalus, cerebral palsy, autism, ADHD, and various other needs. I have been teaching for the past 19 years with 8-year-old students in a regular education / inclusive classroom with special needs.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

A recent even that has made me very proud is a student that I am tutoring has finally gotten his oral reading fluency up after many sessions.  His parents and teachers are so happy.  That's what makes the difference!!!  


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a tutor in your area of expertise?

The advice that I would give to a student looking to hire a tutor is to make sure that you connect with the tutor.  That is so important to like the tutor and feel comfortable.  If you have a good rapport with the tutor than you are more willing to work with them and enjoy tutoring.


What questions should students think through before talking to tutors about their needs?

How do you conduct your sessions?

How will you be able to improve my weaknesses?

Will you contact my teachers so that you have all the information you need to help my progress?

Will you make tutoring fun?


Services offered

Reading Tutors Proofreading Tutors Phonics Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Literature Tutors Handwriting Tutors Grammar Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Tutors