Gwynevere Isabella - Language Arts And Writing Tutor

Gwynevere Isabella - Language Arts And Writing Tutor

5.0 (8)

About this tutor

I am certified as a secondary education English teacher (7-12th grade) and have experience teaching K-12 students with varying levels of English language mastery, from kindergarten ESOL to 12th grade honors. I love to try new and innovative ways to teach and learn. I'm passionate about literature and language, and vocabulary is a personal specialty of mine. I also love music and the outdoors. My hours are flexible and I'm looking forward to helping you meet your goals! 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Glenside, PA 19038
Email verified
Phone verified

8 Reviews

5.0

  • Christopher Valleri

    Worked out my individual needs and set goals - a huge help!

  • William Christopher Roe

    Gwyn was the color guard assistant instructor. She was completely involved and interactive when teaching this group of girls (As well as me). She was incredibly patient with us when we didn't understand something, and would find a different way to explain. Throughout the lessons, Gwyn was one of the called instructors I've ever known. Overall, she would have to learn a way to discipline, but anytime there was an issue, she would handle it quickly and maturely.

  • Leaha Blair

    I had an excellent experience with Gwynevere, she helped me improve my writing and raise my writing grade!

  • Brandy Wedge

    Gwynevere helped me a lot with my English homework because I wasn't and still am not the greatest at it. She was an awesome help


Show all reviews

Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Generally I start by determining what my students' needs are. We discuss whether they want to raise a letter grade, prepare for a test, or just know more about a subject. Then we make a game plan. Every process is individualized based on students' needs.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a degree in teaching English and literature, as well as a passion for the varying language arts. I have also coached color guard 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My general rate is $25 per hour, but I am willing to discuss a price if there are financial limitations. 


How did you get started teaching?

I was raised in a family of educators, and have always had a knack for helping others understand ideas. I love the spark that comes from new knowledge and understanding.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with students in kindergarten through twelfth grade. I've spent time in ESOL classrooms, worked in varying special education settings, and taught varying levels of elementary, middle, and high school language arts.


What questions should students think through before talking to tutors about their needs?

1) What are your strengths? If your tutor knows what you do well, they can help apply that to your struggles.

2) What do you struggle with? 

3) What are your interests? Like your strengths, the things you like can make difficult things more fun and interesting.

4) What are you trying to gain? Do you want to raise a letter grade, prepare for a test, or just know more about a subject? Knowing this will help your tutor plan out how you study.


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors British Literature Help Tutors Classics Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Handwriting Tutors Grammar Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors