Mallory’s Math Tutoring

Mallory’s Math Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I have been working as a tutor in New York City for the past 4 years. I started off tutoring the SAT and ACT online, and then branched out into all of the entrance exams for Middle and High Schools, as well as the GRE. Aside from my extensive test prep background, I also helps students prepare for their Math Regents as well as their NYS tests. I tutor Math from Elementary School to Pre-Calculus, as well as Elementary to High School Reading Comprehension, General Homework Help, and Organizational Skills. I earned a B.A. from Bates College with a double major in Math and Biology. When I am not tutoring, I am an actress who loves watching movies, playing basketball, skateboarding, and spending time with my cat, Mika.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

New York, NY 10022
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Before my first lesson with a student, I like to speak on the phone to either the parent or the student (depending on their age) and learn more about them. Aside from what academic areas they are struggling with, I also like to learn more about them on a personal level, such as what their interests and hobbies are. 

While I have a general plan for what I want to do with the tutoring, I find it best to wait a couple of weeks before coming up with something more solid because that gives me time to really see how they work and to spot any trends in problems that they consistently get incorrect. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I earned a B.A. from Bates College with a double major in Math and Biology. I have been working continuously as a tutor for the past 5 years. While I love tutoring Math in particular, NYC has a big demand for test prep, so I have had to focus a lot of my time on that. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I work for a company currently that charges over $200 an hour for my services, but I am willing to charge $100 myself. 


How did you get started teaching?

I began tutoring as a way to support my acting career. Both my Mother and Sister have worked as tutors in the past. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed working with the students once I started. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I enjoy working with all types of students: loud, shy, struggling, and high achievers. The diversity of the students keeps it interesting. 


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Math Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Reading Tutors Acting Classes Study Skills Tutors Homework Help Tutors Private Tutors Summer Tutors