Algebra /Geometry/English Tutor

Algebra /Geometry/English Tutor

5.0
1 hire on Tutors.com

About this tutor

Hello, my name is Kristy. I have a Bachelors degree from Central Michigan University, focus in Teaching, graduated 2008 and I have my Masters degree from Saginaw State University, Special Education MA, endorsements in LD/CI; graduated in 2015.

 I have been teaching for the past 11 years at the junior high and high school levels. Currently I teach Algebra I and Geometry at a public high school in Oakland County. I have worked with students in a team taught setting and small group setting.  I have many different strategies I can offer in order to help a student gain knowledge and self confidence with their own mathematical skills and any other areas of interest that you are looking for guidance or help in.

I have knowledge and experience with teaching and tutoring in the following areas: Math* Algebra/Geometry, English, History, Biology and Spanish I.

My philosophy for teaching is, “All students can learn and we all learn differently”

I believe all students can learn, it might not be the same way as others but all students can achieve.

Hope to hear from you soon!

Sincerely,

Kristy Robinson

I enjoy helping/working with students to achieve to the best of their ability and seeing self confidence build within a student when it comes to academic success.

I have created a rapport with all of my students by being patient, sympathetic and knowledgeable about the curriculum at hand.  By possessing these qualities I have seen a direct connection with students academic success and self confidence in subject material/and self. 

 

 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Independence Charter Township, MI 48346
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Getting to know my students is the key I feel to success. Having a genuine interest in what is going on with a student and their academics is very important. Getting to know what strategies has the student used, what is working, what is not working…etc.

Asking about them…what about school or academics interests them? Or doesn’t interest them?  Asking “How Can I help?”

Giving a student a voice is giving them control to their education.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

EDUCATION:         Major: Learning Disabilities (SM)  Cognitive Impairments (SA)  Master of Special Education, August 2015 (GPA: 3.75)Saginaw Valley State University, Chesterfield, Michigan

                                    Major: Physical Education (MB) Minor: School Health Educati(MA), 6-12 Bachelor of Science in Education, May 2008 (GPA: 3.16) Central Michigan University, Mt. Pleasant, Michigan

I have been teaching for 11 years in the areas of Physical education, Health education, Team Teaching Math/Algebra/Geometry. Team Teaching: English, History, Biology. Tutoring in all areas mentioned above as well as Spanish 1.

I have taught in a public charter school in Detroit and two public high schools in Oakland County. Currently I am teaching Algebra/Geometry at a public high school in Northern Oakland County.  

 

 

 

 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Pricing can be negotiable. I have resources I can use and bring with me to tutoring sessions as well as reference worksheets, books etc. Depending on subject and customizing lessons to meet the students needs will depend on pricing. 


How did you get started teaching?

Teaching has always been a passion and familyorientated in my life. I grew up with teachers as my parents, aunts, uncles, cousins. I come from a long line of a family of teachers. All three of my sisters are teachers; two in Michigan, one in Massachusetts.  

 


What types of students have you worked with?

All types of students! Ages ranging from 5-18, in the public school setting. I have also worked at a summer camp: SCAMP a special needs camp for 10 summers working with all disabilities and age ranges. 5-55 years of age; creating summer schedules, activities suitable to age range and planning academic and social activities.

I have worked with students with disabilities in: SLD, ASD, CI, and EI. I have also worked with general education students and students with 504 plans.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

A student feeling confident when working on their Geometry Quiz and knowing how to apply the formulas!


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Advice I would give to a student: Have an open mind and know that you will be able to achieve when you put in the effort! Hard Work does pay off…it doesn’t happen overnight.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

A student should think first, “Have I done everything I can do to be successful?” Have I put forth my best effort?

OR

I’m not sure what I need, what should I be doing?!  (And that’s okay too!) J


Services offered