Languages & ESOL Tutoring

Languages & ESOL Tutoring

5.0
1 employee

About this tutor

As an international traveller and citizen of the world, I grew up in an environment that was both multicultural and multilingual. The result? I am fluent in four languages - English, French, Spanish, and Farsi. Things could not have turned out any better for me, or for the students I teach. Due to my extensive language background, I have been able to assist foreigners learning English for the first time or, conversely, English-speakers trying to learn a new language. And the results haven't lied -- language students learn much better when they are taught by someone who understands the struggle of learning a new language. 

I have tutored children ages 6 and up since I was 14 years old (mainly in languages, but also math and other subjects). I was also a French teacher assistant all throughout High School, and a math tutor for physics and calculus students my Senior year. 

I am currently a second-year undergraduate student at the University of Maryland, pursuing a degree in Public Health Sciences and a career in medicine. As far as languages go, I have all the certifications of a proficient English, French, and Spanish speaker and writer (unfortunately, it's a bit more difficult to find exams that test for mastery of Farsi). 

I am happy to tutor elementary (or primary) level subjects on top of the language services I offer. But keep in mind that my expertise lies in linguistics, and that I will be most helpful to you if you are trying to learn a new language. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Westlake, MD 20817
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

It's important to keep in mind that everyone learns differently. I usually believe students when they tell me they have a preferred method of learning, and I try to stick to it as much as possible. With younger students, it's more of a trial-and-error process -- that is, we try different methods until I feel that one works better than the rest. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I worked for Bethesda Tutors for one year (last year of High School), was a French teacher assistant for three years, and casually tutored High School students in math and physics while I was a High Schooler myself. I was also schooled in three different languages (English, French, and Spanish). 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Price is negotiable, and I try to accomodate the financial capacities of each student. Please contact me to discuss rates. 


Services offered

French Tutors Spanish Tutors Translation Trainers Foreign Language Tutors Language Tutors Linguistics Tutoring Help ESOL Tutors Grammar Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Speech Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors