Full Potential Tutoring

Full Potential Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I have always had a passion for helping students learn, with seven years of experience. I have worked as a tutor, teaching assistant, and guest teacher, most recently developing Ecology curriculum for an education non-profit.

In college, I studied Science (Organismal Biology, more specifically), and have a strong background in English. I worked as a scientist for several years, and can to connect textbook concepts to real, exciting experiences. I love making the material come to life for my students! 

I have worked with students of all ages, from elementary school to college. I’ve taught both Science and English, including as a second language. I am able to break complicated concepts down into simple and understandable explanations. I have had success working with students who are “challenging” or easily distracted.

I look forward to helping you reach your full potential as a learner!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

San Francisco, CA 94118
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

During the first meeting, I learn about the student's goals, learning process, and what they need help with most. This includes reviewing their past assignments and syllabi. I also like to have an individual discussion with the parent(s) about their child’s learning and how I can best support them. 

Next, I create a plan for the rest of the semester to meet both short-term and long-term goals. Along with the student and parent(s), I map out any large assignments or exams on a calendar, and  create a schedule. Throughout the semester, we will re-evaluate goals and modify the learning strategies as needed, which includes regular check-ins with the parent(s).


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

B.A. Organismal Biology

Project Learning Tree certification in Environmental Education


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$35 / hour


How did you get started teaching?

My passion for teaching began in high school. I volunteered as an English/Language Arts tutor for elementary students, running an after-school program for a year. Additionally, I tutored other high school students in Biology and Chemistry. 

Over the summers, I developed lessons and taught Environmental Science classes at a school in India.

In college, I worked as a Teaching Assistant and Tutor for Introductory Biology classes. In my free time, I volunteered at several elementary schools. I helped students with a range of subjects, including English and Science.

After graduating, I spent two months developing environmental science curriculum for an education non-profit.


What types of students have you worked with?

Elementary school, middle school, high school, college, English language learners


Services offered

Biology Tutors Biostatistics Tutors ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors English Tutors Cell Biology Tutors Botany Classes Chemistry Tutors Ecology Tutoring AP Statistics Help Tutors Environmental Science Tutors Genetics Tutors Marine Biology Tutors Physical Science Tutors Science Tutors Statistics Tutors Writing Tutors