English (Reading & Writing) Tutoring

English (Reading & Writing) Tutoring

5.0
1 employee

About this tutor

Hello, I am a graduate of Teachers College, Columbia University. My master's was in International Educational Development. 

I am a patient multilingual educator with 5+ years of experience in education.I have 3+ years of tutoring experience in various subjects, including English and math. I have tutored and taught K-12, middle school, and high school students from diverse backgrounds. I have extensive experience working with ESL students and speak Korean fluently. I could share my resume upon request :).

I enjoy designing and adapting the curriculum to help each student meet their learning goals. I encourage my students to take more ownership of their learning process and help build their confidence as lifelong learners. I genuinely want my students to succeed in school and for them to become enthusiastic about their education. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

MONTE VISTA, CA 95014
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I schedule a 30 minute trial session for each student, in which I talk to the student and the parents to assess the student's understanding of the subject, how they are doing in school, and to identify tangible learning goals. We discuss the curriculum at school and whether or not they would like to incorporate additional educational material, such as workbooks. If they wish to move forward after the trial session, we schedule a first tutoring session. When I start tutoring a new student, I pay attention to the ways that he or she learns best. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a master's in International Education from Teachers College, Columbia University. My 5+ years of work experience in education spans teaching, tutoring, mentoring, consulting, education management, curriculum development, and training. I have tutored reading, writing, math, social studies, and science for K-12, middle school, and high school students. I enjoy working with international students and ESL students, as I was an ESL student myself in elementary school. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My standard rate for tutoring is $40/hour. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with K-12 students, college students, adult learners, ESL students, international students, gifted students, and students with special needs. 


Services offered

Algebra 1 Help Tutors American Literature Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors English Tutors English Literature Tutors ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Korean Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Technical Writing Training Writing Tutors ACT Prep Tutors