Derek’s Tutoring

Derek’s Tutoring

5.0 (2)
4 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

I have almost 10 years experience as an educator, a Mechanical Engineering degree, and currently work as an engineer. I am a passionate learner and teacher that strives to constantly improve, and I always strive to do my absolute best to help my students to achieve their goals. For more details please visit my website: derekstutoring.com

I love that I am able to help students to learn and understand new things. I, personally, place a high importance on learning and knowledge, and I see them as the most important aspects of human success both individually and societally. Being able to contribute to those successes gives me a great sense of fulfillment.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Newport Beach, CA 92660
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Nathan Yamagata

    I needed help in Chemistry (Organic, Inorganic, Biochemistry), Algebra, and Physics help luckily I was able to find Derek through tutors.com where he was invaluable in helping me finish my class with flying colors. In little time we covered a large amount of material and he sparked interest and curiosity in learning. He was able to take a difficult and somewhat mundane subject and made it digestable and entertaining. He definitely demonstrated a mastery of the subjects and tremendous patience. I would definitely recommend him and be willing to use him again in the future.

  • Alan Trafton



FAQs


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have worked as an educator in various capacities for almost 10 years including 4 years as an academic tutor, 2 years as a substitute teacher, 2 years volunteering as a basketball coach, and 7 years as the head counselor and coordinator of science activities for a kids’ summer camp.

I graduated from UCI in 2018 with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and currently work as an engineer.

I’m a fluent Spanish speaker and capable of tutoring almost all high school subjects, and some undergraduate courses. My specialties are maths and sciences.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My typical single hour rate is $50/hr, with discounts available for multi-hour and group sessions as well as bulk-time purchasing. 


How did you get started teaching?

My passion for teaching started coaching basketball. When I was a senior in high school I began coaching a team of 7th grade boys in a local youth league. I became obsessed with perfecting my ability to plan and effectively communicate strategies for my teams’ successes.

As I proceeded through my schooling and became knowledgeable in a variety of academic topics, the same passion I found coaching basketball translated naturally to academic instruction and I began to tutor to help pay for my education. Tutoring likewise captivated my desire to perfect my ability to identify students’ needs and adapt my teaching to each individual in order to maximize their learning.


What types of students have you worked with?

I’ve worked with a wide variety of students from adult learners to children as young as 5 years of age. I’ve also worked with students of all levels of ability including students with ADHD, Aspberger’s, and vision disabilities.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

If I could give one piece of advice to a student looking to hire a tutor it would be, find the right fit. Everyone is different and we all learn and communicate differently. Find a tutor that is knowledgeable in the subject, but more importantly one that “speaks your language.” Find a tutor that communicates information in a way that matches your learning style.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Why does my teacher do things the way that they do? 

What’s my goal? What outcome do I want to achieve from this conversation?

What, specifically, are my needs as a learner? Are there ways I can ensure my needs are met without additional assistance from the teacher?

How, specifically, can the teacher accommodate my needs? What is unique to my situation as a learner compared with other students?


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Help Tutors Algorithms Tutors Analytical Geometry Help Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Finite Mathematics Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Basketball Training Coaches Engineering Tutors Mechanical Engineering Tutors