Languages And More

Languages And More

5.0
1 hire on Tutors.com
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

With my background in Linguistics, i.e. the study of how languages work, I understand how to learn and how to teach languages. I currently study and regularly use 5 languages in my graduate work at the University of Oxford. I completed my undergrad at Duke University with a double major in Classics (i.e. Latin and Greek) and in Linguistics, earning summa cum laude, double highest honors, and Phi Beta Kappa (junior year election). I'm passionate about sharing a love for languages with others, and tutoring is one of the best, most personalized outlets to do so!

I structure my lessons to best serve clients' individual learning styles, skill-sets, and goals to help them on their educational journey. I also take advantage of the wealth of online resources, incorporating games, videos, and other exercises into my work. I provide students with 24/7 access to my Google Drive folder with additional activities and exercises, and I am available outside of lessons should students have any questions.

Languages are keys that unlock doors to other people, other countries, and other worlds. With this mindset, I put my passion into my tutoring work. I love to see my students grow and succeed. Whether it's monthly check-in's to show students how much progress they've made or hearing about their newfound ability to translate texts, I am dedicated to and excited by their personal growth. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Charlotte, NC 28226
Email verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first meet with the student to discuss and assess their current skill-set, goals, and learning style. Then, together we build a customized lesson plan for their needs. Using their learning-style and zeroing on areas of material that might need some work, I set my students up for successful growth. Once the tutoring has started, I routinely have check-ins to make sure the lessons are still best-serving the student's needs.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a double major from Duke University in Classical Languages (Greek and Latin) and in Linguistics. Therefore, I spent the majority of college either studying languages themselves or thinking about how they work. I'm currently continuing my work at the University of Oxford as a Master's student.

I have worked as a tutor for a few years, and before COVID I had been trained to work in classrooms with students ages 6-22. I will be working toward receiving my collegiate teaching certification this summer, and I will teach languages at Oxford in the coming academic year.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

-What are you specific goals? Dig deeper than "to learn the language." Do you want to be able to speak fluently? To read street signs when you go abroad? Defining your goals will help me know how to best serve you.

-What do I struggle with right now? Be honest. Does grammar trip you up? Can you just not remember the vocabulary? Knowing these things about yourself is important. If you can communicate these to me, I can show you strategies that will help improve your weak points! 

-How much time am I (realistically) going to dedicate to this? Being upfront about how much time you have to give will help us create a plan that is best for you. Not overcommitted, not undercommitted, but just right. And, of course, if committments outside of tutoring change, I am flexible with lessons.


Services offered

German Tutors Italian Tutors Latin Tutors Linguistics Tutoring Help Spanish Tutors ACT Prep Tutors GRE Tutors SAT Prep Tutors SAT Math Tutors SAT Reading Tutors Classics Tutors College Essays Help Tutors English Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Grammar Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Proofreading Tutors