Middle & High School Math And Science Tutoring

Middle & High School Math And Science Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Hi! My name is Allie, I'm 24 and I tutor students in middle school and high school level mathematics and science. I have a passion for science and math and I love helping develop that same love in others.

I am available to travel up to 30 miles to students or meet them in a library setting as well as working online through video chat.  My hours are 2pm-10pm daily and can schedule times outside of those hours no later than 2 weeks in advance. During weeks of exams, I would prefer to meet or work at least 3 times that week (subject to change depending on students understanding of material). I am available by text during the day if questions arise. I'm willing to work with students as much as they want and/or need until they no longer need me.

I have a degree in science and am furthering it by studying to get my bachelors in neuroscience and psychology. I am well versed in science topics such as biology, general chemistry, and basic organic chemistry as well as basic human anatomy and physiology. I excelled in math specifically algebra and completed college algebra, with a 102% as a high school junior. 

As someone with ADHD, as well as two younger siblings (one with ADHD as well), I am accustomed to today's math and science curriculum and have the ability to teach them in ways that help not only students with attention problems, but those who need new studying strategies, as well as anyone who struggles with those subjects in general. 

I will work with a student to not only find strategies that work personally for them to help them learn the material, but also find personalized strategies to help them study and retain the material. 

My 9th grade science teacher showed me just how fun science could be. He sparked a passion I never knew I had and my hope is to help even one person learn about a subject I'm so passionate about. 

Math is a passion I've had since I was in elementary school as I spent my down time working problems instead of playing with friends. I'm a person who loves solving problems and figuring out why things work the way they do. Most importantly, I love seeing the face of someone who finally understands something they spent so much time struggling to understand. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Lexington, KY 40515
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Catherine Lancaster

    Allie is patient and worked with me to help me with my science class. She helped me make flashcards and study guides and helped me make my grade higher. I was always lost in class so I was behind and my grade was a F but she helped me move it to a B+. She talked to my mom and my mom talked to the teacher and my teacher said because I was trying extra hard to study she would let me make up my bad assignments. I'm in 8th grade now and science is my next favorite subject because social studies is my first. Allie is the best



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

The first thing I do with new students is find out how they learn, whether it be visual, auditory,  repetition, or any combination of those. Then I find out where in the material they are, what their understanding of it is, as well as what understanding they have of material leading up to where they are. I do a recap just to ensure they have a full understanding and then I begin to delve into their current material. From there, i use different techniques to teach them, as well as different techniques and strategies to help them retain the information and make studying easier. Depending on the student and the subject, I will help build their skills with practice problems and questions, and use interactive techniquesto fir build their confidence in their understanding. After exams,  I follow up to see what they missed, walk them through to show how to get the correct answer, find holes in material they need more help with, and further develop their understanding.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have and associates in science and and in the process of getting my bachelor's degree in neuroscience and psychology. 

I tutored fellow students in math and science through college as well as tutoring my younger siblings (one currently in middle school) with their studies.


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Math Tutors Anatomy Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors AP Psychology Test Prep Applied Mathematics Tutors Biology Tutors Cell Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors College Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors