Study Scholar - Math, Science, SAT, MCAT, And More

Study Scholar - Math, Science, SAT, MCAT, And More

5.0 (5)
1 hire on Tutors.com
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

Hi, I'm a tutor specializing in math, science, and test prep including the SAT, ACT, and the MCAT.

Teaching method: I emphasize the concept and try to make it interesting. I don't want my students to just memorize the subject because they will never retain the information. I try to teach the subject intuitively and make it easy for them to understand

CREDENTIALS (LinkedIn Profile below)
- Bachelors of Science in Honors Quantitative Biology from University of Delaware

- University of Delaware Distinguished Scholar (group of the top 100 applicants out 30,000 that applied to UD)

- 98th Percentile SAT score

- Secretary of Education Scholar

- Dean's List

- 7+ years tutoring experience (K-12 + college)

- Certified math tutor at the Mathnasium of Delaware (had to leave due to college schedule)

- Microsoft Office Certified

I like helping other students because I remember I was once in a similar situation as them so being there as a support system is very gratifying for me.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Christiana, DE 19702
Email verified
Phone verified

5 Reviews

5.0

  • Andrew R.

    My wife and I spent long time looking for a private tutor for our two kids, one in 7th grade, and another in 11th. They were both struggling with their math and science courses and their teachers did not have the time or resources to help them on a regular basis outside of school. We found Yousef online and hired him to tutor both of our kids on a weekly basis. My wife and I could immediately see the results within a few weeks. We would always ask our children how they felt after each lesson and they would always say they could finally understand a certain concept like fractions or quadratics. Their exam scores dramatically improved and I could see they were finally enjoying classes as they understood what was going on. My son is now an incoming senior applying to colleges soon and my daughter is starting highschool as well. We are very glad to have hired Yousef and would absolutely recommend him for anyone looking for a tutor.

  • Sydney Baker

    Fantastic service! We could not have asked for a better tutor!

  • brian freeman

    I was very impressed with his teaching skills in both algebra 2 and sat. my kids understood the material very well after being taught by Mr. Sheikh and their teachers had very positive things to say about their improvements.

  • Sabrina H

    Yousef was a tutor for my son, who's currently in 12th grade highschool. Yousef helped him with his SAT retake and AP biology course. My son improved over 100 points on his SAT and scored a 4 on his AP biology exam! We were beyond thrilled and so thankful for Yousef for tutoring him.


Show all reviews

FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

From my experience, the main issue most students have with any subject is that they're not comfortable with certain topics and over time, it causes major holes in their content knowledge, even when they progress to a higher level class. Because of this, I typically try to figure out what major concepts the student is lacking first and build upon those weaknesses to they have a strong base moving forward.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I used to work at the Mathnasium where I would tutor students (K-12 and college) in math and SAT. I gained a lot of experience there and was able to progress my tutoring techniques. Unfortunately, my college schedule was very demanding so I was unable to commute to work, hence why I quit. However, I also do freelance tutoring and have helped many students in math, science, test prep, and software tutorials. Finally, I am a full-time student in college and as my last semester is wrapping up, I have a lot more time to do things like tutoring other students.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

It really depends on the student and what they need. My typical rate is $35/hour, however, it is always subject to change on an individual basis. If you are interested in monthly/weekly plans or prefer online vs in-person tutoring, I can absolutely work with you to come up with a better rate.


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring students back in highschool and I really enjoyed it so I decided I could turn it into a hobby since I was a student myself.


What types of students have you worked with?

Literally students of all ages from kindergarten to post-college.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Pick a tutor who really understands why you need help in a particular subject and knows exactly how to approach the problem so you'll be better off later on.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Be honest with yourself about your strengths and weaknesses and don't be afraid to tell your teacher that you don't know how to do something. We're here to help you and more you communicate, the better it'll be.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algebra Tutors Basic Math Tutors Arithmetic Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Microsoft Excel Training Microsoft Powerpoint Training Microsoft Publisher Training Microsoft Windows Training Microsoft Word Training Learn Operating Systems