Willoughby Academic & Test Prep Tutoring

Willoughby Academic & Test Prep Tutoring

5.0 (2)
1 employee
8 years in business

About this tutor

I'm passionate about ensuring student success both inside the classroom and out in the real world. My tutoring method starts with conceptual learning and builds to real-world applications. I provide an attention to detail that allows students to fully understand the material they are learning and provides parents with the support they need to help their child grow. I have nearly 10 years of experience with both individual and group tutoring on a variety of subjects, including multiple subjects for grades 4-12, college courses, test prep, and basic computer efficiency skills. I have a Bachelor's of Science in Environmental Science that required rigorous multi-subject coursework and am currently working on a Master's of Science in Education.

LinkedIn|Indeed|Blog

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Huntsville, AL 35806
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Garrett Roberts

    She was really understanding as far as how everyone develops and learns at different paces. She was really able to explain it however it needed to be in order for you to completely understand it. She tutored next in a college level class and knew the subject extensively. Overall she was a great tutor and I would highly recommend her to everyone.

  • McKenzie Shelton

    She was extremely patient, and was willing to go into great detail/use multiple different teaching strategies to explain difficult concepts.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

During my first meeting with a student, I like to get to know exactly what they need help with and figure out what learning gaps they have. Once we've gone over their needs and problems, then I usually try to have them go over things with my assistance when needed to assess their level of efficiency with the material. If the student only needs to meet once for something like working on an essay, then we get that done during the session through leading questions and assistive analysis. If the student will need to meet for multiple sessions, then I like to work through concepts and examples. Before ending the first session, I like to get a rough plan in place of what proficiency the students wants/needs with the material and what their timeframe is for learning the material. I then spend some time after the session creating a more detailed plan, which I send to the student and their parents to give them an idea of what will be done. After the first session, meetings will flow differently based on what materials/activities I will get prepared.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I'm currently working on a Master's in Education and hold a Bachelor's in Environmental Science. I have nearly 10 years of experience tutoring at multiple levels and within multiple subjects.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I always price my lessons at an hourly rate based on student needs. That being said, my price is negotiable based on family resources/income. My base rate is $20 per hour of tutoring, but if the student needs more time than the family can afford at that rate, I will work out a reduced rate to allow them to support their student's learning goals without breaking the bank.


How did you get started teaching?

I got started tutoring by first volunteering to help struggling students in courses that I was in or had already completed. I worked with teachers and the students' parents to determine if I could help and how I could best support others learning goals. After a while, several families began hiring me to tutor their children long-term. From there, I held group study sessions and individual tutoring sessions for several courses. I ended up adding test prep to my repertoire after making a higher score on my ACT in high school. I've now branched out into multiple subjects and tests.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with students who are struggling in individual or multiple classes. I've also worked with high achievers that struggle to raise ACT, SAT, and GRE scores. Within both categories, I have worked with students who needed to improve certain skills necessary for classes and real-world applications.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I recently got accepted to a post-graduate program as a graduate student seeking a Master's in Education! I was very excited to begin this new journey, and I still am. Life can take some crazy twists and turns, but it's very exciting to gain more knowledge and learn how to better share it with the world.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Contact several teachers and see who would be the best fit both for the area of expertise and their personality. A lot of students seem to have trouble engaging in learning with teachers based on personality differences, so don't become discouraged if you can't find someone that helps right away. Sometimes it's a process of getting to know one another a little bit, and other times its two personalities meshing about as well as oil and water.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Is the need due to a lack of understanding of a concept or lack of understanding of how to apply the concept? What level of proficiency do you want with the material? When do you want to meet that proficiency level - in a few weeks, in a few months, in the next two years? Do you need to learn a specific skill? What type of learner are you - auditory, visual, hands-on?


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Probability Tutors Quantitative Reasoning Tutors Statistics Tutors