Ava's English & Writing Tutoring

Ava's English & Writing Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Hello there! My name is Ava, and I am nineteen years old. I graduated from high school in 2020 with an AA equivalency from Eastern Washington University. In my free time, I enjoy reading, playing violin, and spending time with friends and family.

While I lack professional tutoring experience, I spent a lot of time in high school volunteering in my mother's fifth grade classroom. I often led class/group discussions and assisted peers with their studies as well. I am majoring in education and aiming to be a professor. When tutoring, I think it's crucial to adapt oneself to someone's personal learning approach. Everyone is unique and absorbs information differently, so in order to help someone reach academic success, they must be seen, valued, and encouraged in a way that they feel comfortable and confident with. 

I specialize in academic English and writing K-12. I am also open to discussing assistance in other areas.

What I love most about tutoring is being able to watch someone's confidence skyrocket. It is frustrating when you aren't feeling great about where you're at in a subject but don't know where else to go. I also enjoy how much I learn from the students I have worked with. I have found myself learning just as much as the student has every time. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Spokane, WA 99208
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First and foremost, I would like to start with an introductory session that is free of charge. I would like for us to get to know each other a bit better before jumping into our studies. This way, we can gauge if I would be the best to help you further your academic career, and I can also gain an understanding as to how you learn successfully.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Throughout both middle and high school, I took AP English and history courses. These classes involved many different approaches to learning through fun and adventurous activities that helped me retain the information. I started attending univeristy classes through the Running Start Program when I was 16, and took many courses relating to creative writing, humanities, and world history. I graduated high school with an AA equivalency geared toward humanities. 

I also spent a lot of time and energy volunteering in my mother's classroom, which was highly rewarding because it brought to my attention that teachers learn just as much as students. My sophomore year, I created a mental health awareness club at my high school. It was a place my peers could go to learn, receive resources, and relate to those going through similar situations.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My standard pricing is $16 an hour but could be flexible depending on circumstance or material. 


Services offered

English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Proofreading Tutors Speech Tutors Spelling Tutors