Active Reading And Writing Tutoring

Active Reading And Writing Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Hello my name is Alexis. I have my bachelors degree in Psychology with a minor in Childhood Education and are currently obtaining my Masters Degree in Early Childhood and Special Education. I have experience working with children from ages three to eight years old in various educational settings doing numerous activities with the children such as reading, writing, spelling, math etc... I am very passionate about helping children which is why I would like to extend my services and be able to work one-on-one with children in order to help them achieve their goals in the area in which they are struggling and need extra help. I specialize in reading, writing and spelling. I have been in my masters program for two years now and during this time I have been able to work in schools and with children on their day to day schedules. I currently hold the EAS- Educating all Students NYS certification, will be taking the CST NYS certification this summer and by May 2021 I will have completed the last part of the NYS certification EdTPA in which I will receive my Masters Degree of Science officially be a NYS certified teacher. I would love the opportunity to help your child in the process of becoming the best reader and writer they can be while seeing children thrive and succeed in their education and development. 

I enjoy working with children because it brings happiness to my life to be able to help them with the area's in which they struggle with as this gives me such joy to see them flourish and start to understand the material which ultimately helps them succeed in their development.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

New York, NY 10036
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Erica Arena

    Alexis really did help me succeed in all my English courses. She broke down all the material to help me understand what my teachers and professors were asking for. I’ve known her since high school and continued to receive help from her all through college! She’s very patient and never has a problem repeating things over until you fully understand. I also have some learning disabilities and she is more than qualified to help others with disabilities too. She’s getting a Masters Degree to help children with special needs and so you can feel comfortable having her tutor individuals of all ages and levels of learning.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

The typical process that I have for working with a new student is I will initially talk to the parent(s) in which I will want to find out information about the child such as their age, what grade they are in school, if they have special needs, and what it is that they are having difficulty with. I will also want to know at what level of development their child is academically as well as developmentally in order to determine the level of material I will be using with the child; I do not want to work with the child on material that is either to easy or too difficult because this will not help them. Ultimately, I am interested in helping the child, with the proper time and attention deserved, while providing him with the best possible care to meet both the parents and child's needs. I look foward to meeting with you and your child and developing a relationship. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Bachelors in Pyschology and minor in Childhood Education from The City College of New York

Masters in Early Childhood and Special Edudcation from The City College of New York

EAS- Educating All Students NYS certificate

CST- In Progress

Edtpa- May 2021


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge 75 dollars an hour.


How did you get started teaching?

I started getting into teaching when I was an undergraduate student. I took an education elective and was told I had to do fieldwork, as a requirement, in an elementary school to observe and see how this would make as a career. As I was doing my fieldwork, I was given the oppurtunity to interact with the children and this gave me complete bliss. I was so happy being able to interact and work with these children, seeing and watching how they learn. From here, I decided that this is what I wanted to do as my career and I went onto take more education classes and ultimatly get my masters degree in education so that I could become a teacher. I love children and helping them learn and reach their full potential in their growth and development. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I work with children from three to eight years old.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Could I try to figure this problem out on my own before asking for help? 

- Use fingers to tap out the sound

- Write out the word and break it down

- Re-read the sentence and try it again

- If the child is still having difficulty they can ask for help and then the teacher would go and sit with the children to go over what it is they are not understanding. 

- The goal is to help the child and guide them through the process themselves so they can see their mistakes as well as feeling that level of excitement that they were able to figure it out on their own. 

- It does not behove the child for the teacher to give the child the answer right away because this will not help them learn what they did not understand.

- If the child still cannot figure it you, the teacher can give the child the answer and then will explain to them how they would have gotten that answer and then ask them to do the next problem on their own.