Whiting Science, Math & English Tutoring

Whiting Science, Math & English Tutoring

5.0
1 years in business

About this tutor

Hi, guys! I am a fourth-year student at the University of Georgia, and I am super excited to have the opportunity to help others achieve their academic goals. My major is Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience, and I intend to one day become a college professor as well as head my own research lab that focuses on Behavioral Neuroscience. I genuinely care about the students I work with and wholeheartedly believe that in the field of academia, it is our collaborative efforts that make the biggest impact on the world. Furthermore, I emphasize comprehension and problem solving over rote memorization whenever possible since that is how to best retain information so that it can be used in future classes and scenarios. 

My favorite part about this job is knowing that the effort I put in goes directly towards the benefit of my clients. There is no middle-man between tutor and student, and I appreciate the chance to meet with and help people I would not have known otherwise. It is an amazing feeling to witness someone confidently work through a difficult topic and realize that I was successfully able to guide them to the knowledge and probem-solving skills they had all along.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Athens, GA 30605
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Before we begin, I like to get to know the student. Understanding their interests, goals, current study habits, and priorities helps me create a specialized plan for them. I understand that not every student learns in the same way, and I encourage open communication between myself and my students and/or thier families about how they feel they could best be served. I also recognize that as time goes on, our approach may change as the student grows and further discovers what combination of habits helps them the most. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have tutored siblings of friends throughout high school, and I have been a teaching assistant in a college course. I also participated in a volunteer program that assisted elementary school teachers in improving the reading rates in their classrooms by working with a group of students to practice thier skills in breakout sessions. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

This past summer I flew out to Oregon to visit family, and while we were there, a couple of us set out to explore Crater Lake.  My friend and I spent the day hiking the nearby trails (admittedly, getting lost a couple times), and at one point we were running with hiking boots on an unpopulated trail to escape swarms of mosquitoes, but the ridiculousness of that moment makes it one of my favorite from the day. As a nature lover, it was an incredible experience that reminded me of just how beautiful our world is, and I hope everyone gets the chance to visit some of our country's national parks.


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors English Literature Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors Biochemistry Tutors Biology Tutors