Catching Up With Cota Tutoring

Catching Up With Cota Tutoring

5.0 (3)
1 employee
7 years in business

About this tutor

With so many new changes in our public and private education system, many are wondering how their student will be able to obtain the support they need to be succesful outside the classroom. Graduating May 2, 2020 from Azusa Pacific University with a Liberal Studies degree and a minor is Social Science, I have been trained with the newest teaching strategies centered around technology. I am also attending Azusa Pacific in the fall 2020 to recieve both my multi-subject credential and masters in Learning and Technology to better support my future students as we increasingly become reliant on technology in the classroom. 

I have a passion for teaching and have gained close to 150 hours of experience over the last 4 years in my undergrad program solidifying my dream of becoming an educator. Other than being a classroom teacher, I also have years of experience as a tutor as I started tutoring when I was 16. The great thing about learning new things is that we ALL can do it! And even better, it's okay if you need some help along the way! 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Alta Loma, CA 91701
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Jasmine Mayforth

    She helped me when I got stressed out by the difficulty of my work. Plus we figured it out.

  • Christy Negi

    Mrs. Cota really helped me with my schoolwork! She was very patient with me and was really good at explaining how I could do my math homework and improve my writing!

  • Vanessa Crilly

    She paid attention to everything I needed help with and explained things in different ways until I understood. She is very nice and caring!



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Diagnostic Assessments are a great way to guage understanding when it comes to working with a new student! This can be done by completeting a simple quiz, demonstration, or by answering oral questions! From there, I am able to understand as a tutor where the student needs more guidance and where I can highlight their strengths.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

-Bachlors of Arts in Liberal Studies with a minor in Social Science

-CBEST certifications 

-150+ hours in the classroom as an instructor 

-Attending grad school Fall 2020 to obtain my multi-subject credential and masters in Learning and Technology


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Pricing varies on service:(per hour)

[$30] Guiding student through online homework or topics addressed in class

[$45] Guiding student through online homework, topics in addressed in class, and creating supplementary worksheets


What types of students have you worked with?

I have taught students from 2nd-7th Grade across a variety of subjects such as: English, Spanish, Math, Social Science, Science, and P.E.. I also have experience with working with student with various special needs across the Glendora, Bonita, and Azusa school district.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

"What do I want my tutor to know about me?"

"What can my tutor do to best support me?"


Services offered

American History Tutors African-American History Tutors Bible Studies Lessons Ethics Training Tutors European History Tutors Geography Tutors Humanities Tutors Religion Classes Social Studies Tutors World Civilization Tutors World History Tutors Algebra Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Soccer Training Coaches