Jess + Languages

Jess + Languages

5.0
1 employee
5 years in business

About this tutor

Hello! I'm Jess and a recent SPU graduate where I double majored in Linguistics and Cultural Studies as well as in French and Francophone Studies. I love linguistics itself and also languages in general! I am a native Spanish speaker and have been learning and speaking French for more than 10 years. I hope to one day become a bilingual speech language pathologist in order to better help young kids with speech impairments. I work with each student individually and cater to their goals and needs! I have been tutoring in languages for about five years, since I first started at college. I have received a Trilingual Scholars Award, in which I received an outstanding grade in three languages at once (English, French and German!). I would love to help out more people here in Seattle as I continue school in my path to become a speech pathologist!

I truly love working with people to achieve their own goals! I enjoy spreading the knowledge of these languages and their own respective cultures because I find that to be a key part in being human - being able to connect with others from differing background, or at least, being able to have an open mind that still welcomes them! I hope to spend the rest of my life working with children to help them with their speech impairments, too, and so my passion for language takes on several shapes and forms!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Seattle, WA 98119
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

We can set goals and lessons/plans for how to achieve each of those, and we can also set a time line in which the student can let me know how long they would like to take lessons.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have about five years' worth of experience in language tutoring! I also grew up bilingual with Spanish and English, and have also been learning and speaking French for more than 10 years. I love all of these languages so much, and have even been able to start teaching small classes through a company!


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

As of 2021, my hourly rates can range and they start from $35-$45, depending on the timing and supplies (such as books, paper, etc.) needed from my end! I would love to talk personally if you have any questions about this.


How did you get started teaching?

I am currently an assistant teacher at a private preschool! I love working with children and hope to continue to help others in their language-learning journies. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with kids as young as three years old to adults in their 30s! Some have been native speakers of other languages, while others are typically monolingual English speakers with goals to learn other languages (that is awesome!). 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I think it is definitely important to find someone you are comfortable with and enjoying working with, too! Learning a language can be intimidating and kind of scary, so it is nice to have someone teaching you that you can truly practice and work with.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

- Would I enjoy working with this teacher?

- Would this teacher be able to help me reach my goals?

- Can we get meet virtually with little to no problem?

- Can I meet their rates? (If not, can we talk about this and find a solution, perhaps?).


Services offered

French Tutors Linguistics Tutoring Help Spanish Tutors