Becca Burlingame

Becca Burlingame

5.0 (5)
6 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

As a native English speaker who has learned Spanish, I truly know what it takes to learn a foreign language. I have taught Spanish 1 and 2, all levels of ESL, and have tutored students from age 7 to over 60, totaling to over 7 years of second language education. I adapt to my student, but no matter who it is, they will be using language in all its forms - reading, writing, listening and speaking. I am certified in ESL from the University of Florida, and I am a certified teacher in both Texas and Florida. 

I love my students, and I love to watch their progress and growth. The most rewarding feeling as a teacher is to watch a student be able to do something they once thought they never could. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Austin, TX 78757
Email verified
Phone verified

5 Reviews

5.0

  • Ashley Toma

    I went through 2 tutors before her and she's literally a saint. I did so much better in my class because of her! Super fast to respond, super prompt and professional. Also she really knows her spanish! So glad I found her!

  • Rachel Dozier

    Becca helped me survive a 5 week spanish course and I would have died without her. She is amazing and really can break down concepts you aren’t quite understanding. The best!!

  • Ber S.

  • Jose Isturiz

    A great teacher, she makes the classes easier for the students, I recommend her 100 percent, and she knows Spanish it's a big plus.


Show all reviews

FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First class is always an evaluation of where the student is currently. I need to know what they know in order to work with them. 

I also try to get to know my student and how they like to learn. Do they want to play games? Are they comfortable doing actions? Do they want homework help? These are all important questions to get answered in the first few classes, and they dictate how the sessions progress. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Due to COVID-19, I am currently only offering online classes at the following rates:
$20 for 30 minutes.
$25 for 45 minutes. 
$30 for 60 minutes. 

Have friends who need to learn as well? I can offer group rates based on how many people want to join!


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of all ages and backgrounds. I have taught students from Asia, Africa, Europe, and North and South America. They have ranged in age from 7 to over 60 years old. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What are your end goals? Do you want to pass a class? Do you want to gain conversational skills? Hone in on some grammar? This will influence the type of teacher you want. It will also help you put forth the amount of effort necessary. 


Services offered

Spanish Tutors ELL Tutoring Teachers ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors TOEFL Tutors AP Tutors Homework Help Tutors Private Tutors Teacher Tutors Study Skills Tutors