Test Prep/Math And Science Tutor

Test Prep/Math And Science Tutor

5.0

About this tutor

I’m a locally educated college student in Nassau County. I graduated from Lynbrook Senior High School with an Advanced Regents Diploma with Honors and Mastery in Math and Science. I am a biology major in the honors program as well as being an international biology honor society member and international honor society member. I have done so with strong grades in various college courses. I have studied biology, chemistry, English, psychology, and calculus in addition to many others. I recieved a 36 in reading and 35 in science on the ACT, and am familiar with the curriculum on NYS Regents exams and SAT/ACT exams and have been tutoring specifically for these exams for several years now. 

I enjoy helping others to learn, especially about subjects that I’m passionate about. Seeing people of any age learn something new and understand new concepts is a very fulfilling feeling, and it makes tutoring worthwhile. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Lynbrook, NY 11563
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to correspond with a potential student to learn about their personal learning preferences and what really helps them to understand and retain information best. We can do this via email or phone, and this allows me to help my student better!


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have taken numerous college biology courses, and have years of experience with local and national exams. I recieved mastery level grades on every regents exam offered in New York State, as well as competitive scores on the PSAT, SAT, Biology SAT 2, and ACT. I also recieved excellent grades on several AP exams, including AP Literature, Spanish Language, and American History. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I usually charge $30 per hour for anything above a ninth grade level, $25 per hour for elementary and middle school level, and $20 per hour for kindergarten level homework help and reading reinforcement. 


How did you get started teaching?

I began tutoring in response to friends who needed help with class materials, as I began to help them. After years of casually helping friends, I gained more skills and knowledge both in subjects and information, as well as how to help students learn better. This helped me to learn what really works for real people. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of all ages, though my specialty is high school level test tutoring. I have worked with many middle school students as well, tutoring in subjects such as science, math, English, and Spanish. Some of my more recent students have been elementary school students requiring help with assignments, reading and writing, and understanding math concepts. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I recently volunteered to help protect the Piping Plovers, a type of bird that lives in specific parts of local beaches. It was a great experience knowing that I could help these beautiful creatures and help the environment at the same time. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would say to make sure your tutor is willing to work with you and what methods work best for you. A personalized approach helps you get the most knowledge and retain it. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Students should try to think about what it is that they specifically struggle with. This could be in terms of comprehension, focusing, time management etc. Also, specific questions from textbooks or assignments that seem confusing can be a good place to start asking for help. 


Services offered