Marval Tutoring

Marval Tutoring

5.0 (4)
1 hire on Tutors.com
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

-I am a graduate of Loyola University Maryland class of 2017. Upon graduation I obtained a B.S. in Biology/Psychology and graduated Cum Laude (overall GPA: 3.6, major GPA: 3.7). I am also a member of Psi Chi and Beta Beta Beta, the psychology and biology honor societies, respectively. I am a certified CRLA (College Reading and Learning) tutor and BODYCOMBAT instructor in the process of obtaining my NASM certification with a specialization in corrective medicine.

-In high school and college, I tutored students in Spanish and many areas of biology and psychology. I have worked with the age range of 15-21. I would consider my area of expertise in neuroscience/neuropsychology. My two biggest passions are fitness and science. Therefore, I plan on pursuing a DPT so I can combine the two into a career.

-I understand that some topics can be overwhelming, so I utilize three main methods while tutoring. I generally like to take a complicated topic, break it down into its individual components, then build it back up again. Additionally, I feel that using examples so the student can relate to the issue gives the student a better understanding of the subject at hand. Third, I frequently draw diagrams and charts to help visual learners, espceically in biology. Finally, I prefer to prepare lessons ahead of time so we can make the most of the session together.

-I come from a family of teachers and am a fitness instructor myself. Teaching comes naturally to me, so I am very comfortable working with larger groups and one-on-one. Lastly, I love tutoring because seeing a student finally grasp a topic he or she has been struggling with is the most rewarding thing in the world. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Jersey City, NJ 07307
Email verified
Phone verified

4 Reviews

5.0

  • Rain Soto

    Marisa is very personable and supportive. She was readily available to meet when needed. Marisa, also, constructed study guides and various visual learning materials to simplify complex concepts. I would recommend her to anyone looking for a tutor in the sciences.

  • Rachel Belmonte

    I received great feedback on my outline for my Developmental Psychology final paper.

  • Andrew P

    Marisa was hands down the main reason why I passed freshman year Biology. Her dedication to helping me not only learn, but understand the information made the difference between feeling confident going into exams and stressing out days in advance. Marisa took the time to go over the material before each and every session. In addition, every time I had an exam or quiz, she would go out of her way to make practice test and quizzes. Without a doubt, THE best tutor I have ever had!

  • Andrew Pappalardo

    I loved the ability for my tutor to be both approachable and reliable for a variety of topics. Marisa went out of her way numerous time to make practice exams, quizzes, etc. in order to not only prepare me, but to instill the necessary and required confidence going into my exams. Never once did I feel thar Marisa was unprepared as she would take the necessary time before our sessions to both read and understand the material. Marisa was the sole reason why I was able to pass freshman year Biology in college!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I cater to each student individually. I have been on the not so fun end of tutoring before, so I know it can be frustrating. My general method is to take a concept, break it down into it's little parts, and build it back up again. When a student can see how everything is connected on it's own, it helps them understand the subject from a different perspective and in a clearer way. I also like to utilize examples that the student can relate to, diagrams, and drawings (especially for biology).


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a B.S. in Biology/Psycholgoy from Loyola University Maryland. One of my part time jobs in college was tutoring biology and psychology to all different college students. I come from a Spanish speaking family, so I have a very good understanding of the language as well. Finally, I have been a research assistant for both psychology and biology research studies. Consequently, I have hands on experience in both fields, specifically neuroscience/neuropsychology.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My standard rate is about $30/hr. If that seems unreasonable or you cannot afford that much, I can work on a compromise. If we go over the allotted time (1 hour), I do not charge time and a half. I can take any form of payment (cash, check, venmo, paypal, etc.). 


How did you get started teaching?

I started teaching in high shool as a requirement for the NHS and SNHS (Spanish National Honor Society). I loved it so much that I continued to do it in college. My first year in college, I worked with young inner-city Baltimore students in subjects like elementary math, reading, and earth science. I then transitioned to working on campus through the university tutoring college students in biology and psychology due to time constraints and convenience. After graduating, I still kept in touch with my younger tuttees to give them any guidance they needed, academic or social. Finally, I received a certification through the university (CRLA certified).


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with middle schoolers, high schoolers, and college students.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would advise them to look to someone with experience tutoring AND hands on experience in the field. You can learn a lot out of a textbook, but the information you learn on the job is even more useful and invaluable. 


Services offered

AP Biology Tutors Biology Tutors Endocrinology Training Tutors Life Sciences Tutors Neurobiology Tutors Neuroscience Tutors Physiology Tutors Social Sciences Tutors