Jesse Thorson Tutoring

Jesse Thorson Tutoring

4.9Exceptional(9 reviews)
Offers online services
Offers online services


I am a graduate of Columbia University. I received my B.A. in Sustainable Development in May 2018, researching electricity access in Nicaragua for my departmental-honors-winning senior thesis and taking additional coursework in philosophy, theology, and Spanish. I am a Minnesota-native, and currently reside in the Hamilton Heights neighborhood of upper Manhattan.

My academic achievement in high school includes an ACT score of 35, National Merit Scholar, National AP Scholar, "Most talented extracurricular student" in public high school of ~3000 students, and more. Undergraduate academic achievements at Columbia University include latin honors (magna cum laude), departmental honors, multiple dean's list awards, and various fellowships and travel grants.

I love to help students--irrespective of age--learn to love learning. I began tutoring in high school, tutoring my peers in AP Calculus, teaching middle-schoolers math and chemistry, and serving as a writing coach. My current academic interests span the intersection of environmental thought with philosophy and theology, but I am excited and prepared to offer tutoring services to students of any age across mathematics (up to calculus and statistics), English, essay-writing, test-preparation (ACT or SAT and select subject tests), philosophy, religious studies, Spanish, and reading skills.


Hired 1 time
1 employee
5 years in business
Serves New York, NY
Offers online services

Social media


0 reviews

Mary L.

Jesse is a smart, thoughtful, prepared and nice tutor. My son tutored with him for the SAT and really enjoyed working with him. If he didnt understand something he would find a way to explain it to him so that it made sense. He also had materials ready for them to practice with, which was very helpful. My son said the math portion of his test was MUCH easier to do this time around. I would definitely recommend Jesse!
... Show more
October 14, 2020

Lucas H.

Jesse is a formidable educator and communicator. His passion for helping others succeed and academic prowess is a valuable trait in tutoring.
... Show more
April 03, 2019


He was articulate, energetic and responsive.
... Show more
April 03, 2019

Megan R.

As well as he is a good instructor, Jesse is a good listener. He knows how to explain something in a different way if someone isnt getting it. Hes thorough, clear, and exceedingly patient.
... Show more
October 24, 2018

Cody K.

I especially appreciate Jesses attention to detail and patience. He is masterful at explaining materials and gauging how well others are comprehending the topics. Hes super insightful, caring, and emotionally intelligent--a perfect combination for a tutor!
... Show more
October 24, 2018

Sarabeth W.

Jesse is highly attentive to the needs and gifts of everyone he works with. Across many disciplines, he is able to bring out your intellectual best.
... Show more
October 23, 2018

Frequently asked questions

I talk with the student (and/or his parents if the student is below 18 years of age) about learning goals and the desired scope of tutoring services. Do you want help with assignment completion? Is concept acquisition an area of focus? Do you need to practice speaking and writing Spanish or English?

We then talk through particular challenges the student faces, and why (or why not) tutoring services may be appropriate and helpful.

Finally, we work out the ideal length of sessions and the number of sessions per week to achieve you or your students' goals. My average is one session per week. We then set a date to start tutoring, and continue to evaluate needs and strategies as we get to know each other and begin. 

If the learner is young, parents may be present in the beginning of lessons to help provide information on assignments and learning goals. It's usually most effective, however, to give your child as much freedom and independence as possible in the tutor-student relationship.

I have a B.A. from Columbia University, tutoring experience with clients  from middle school through college, and I am a trained writing coach. 

I started tutoring my peers and younger students in math when I was in early high school. 

I work with both accelerated learners and students facing learning challenges. I also work with students who simply want homework help or assistance in grasping concepts in math, science, Spanish language, reading, and writing.

What kinds of learning challenges do I encounter in the classroom or at home?

Are there areas of learning or subjects which are the most interesting or easiest to grasp? How about those that seem 'dull' or require more energy and patience?

What resources are available to me at home or at school to help me with assignment completion or classroom comprehension?

Services offered

Social Sciences
Test Prep Tutoring