Science, Math, ACT, SAT Tutoring

Science, Math, ACT, SAT Tutoring

5.0
1 employee

About this tutor

Are you looking for someone who can help your student obtain an excellent ACT, SAT or MCAT score? Does your student need help in high school math or science classes? If so, I can help your student achieve his or her goals.

My name is Mathew Idichandy and I am a recently accepted medical student at the University of Cincinnati. I previously worked as a high school science teacher in Pasadena, Texas for 2 years. I specifically taught 9th grade biology and 10th grade chemistry to over 300 high schoolers. As a classroom teacher, I utilized pedagogical strategies effectively to create collaborative classroom environments where each student achieved maximal success and learning. I also utilized a variety of differentiated teaching strategies to make this possible.

Here are more details about my education and standardized test performance:

My educational background: 
- Graduated high school (Michigan) - 2009; 4.0 GPA 
- 2013 - Bachelor of Science, Neuroscience - University of Michigan - 3.5 GPA 
- 2016 - Master of Art in Teaching, Secondary Integrated Science - Eastern Michigan University - 3.7 GPA 
- 2018 - Master of Science in Physiology - University of Cincinnati - 3.72 GPA

Standardized Test scores: 
- ACT (2008) - 35/36 (99th %ile) 
- SAT (2008) - Critical Reading - 690 (95th %ile); Math - 790 (99th %ile); Writing - 710 (96th %ile) 
- MCAT (2017) - 517/528 (95th %ile): 
- MCAT Sub-section scores: 
Chem/Phys - 131 (99th %ile) 
Critical Analysis and Reading - 127 - (82th %ile); 
Bio/Biochem - 129 (90th %ile); 
Psych/Soc - 130 - (95th %ile)

Please contact me if you are interested in my tutoring services. I hope to hear from you soon!

I enjoy the chance to work with students who need help to achieve their goals.  I hope to continue building on my teaching experience as a private tutor.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Cincinnati, OH 45229
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first want to learn more about the students learning needs and goals and their availability to meet.  I would then give a diagnostic assessment to determine areas of strength and weakness.  Then I would work with students on their assignments or create a mini curriculum with worksheets and lessons to help them achieve content mastery.  I would use checks for understanding and some time of cumulative assessment to ensure their understanding.  


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I taught high school science for 2 years in Pasadena, Texas.  Specifically, I taught about 300 students total over 2 years, and I taught 9th grade biology in year one, and 10th grade chemistry in year 2.

I obtained a Master of Art in Teaching (Secondary Integrated Science) from Eastern Michigan University in 2016.  I obtained certification to teach 6-12 grade sciences (biology, chemistry, physics, earth science) in the State of Texas.

I also have experience in private tutoring for geometry, chemistry, algebra, and SAT.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $60 per lesson, and I offer the first lesson free of charge.


How did you get started teaching?

Before deciding to go to education school, I privately tutored students.  I also decided to work as a paraprofessional to help special needs students in inclusive middle school classrooms for a year.  That helped me see more of what teaching looks like, and led me to pursue a Master's Degree in Education.


What types of students have you worked with?

Middle school and high school students, ELL students, and Special Education students.  


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I recently completed a second master's degree (Master of Science in Physiology) at the University of Cincinnati.  This was a very challenging program built for pre-medical students, and I did exceptionally well.  I also received acceptance to the College of Medicine at the University of Cincinnati. This will allow me to pursue a career as a future physician.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would advise a student to find someone with valuable experience teaching that content area, a proven track recor of success, and someone that has a patient, caring disposition.


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Analytical Chemistry Tutors Geometry Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Probability Tutors Statistics Tutors Trigonometry Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors Biochemistry Tutors Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors Physical Science Tutors Physics Tutors Physiology Tutors Science Tutors