Shimmy With Miss Kim

Shimmy With Miss Kim

5.0

About this tutor

Hello! I am a recent Michigan State University graduate and am currently completing my student teaching at an elementary school in Southfield. I have 5 years of experience working directly in middle and elementary school classrooms and over 9 years of working with children in general. I love crafting and art, and I like to integrate that in my teaching in order to make it more enjoyable! I also currently work part time at a tutoring center where I work with students that are ages 4-13. I teach Korean as well, and I can offer Korean language tutoring as well. Please feel free to contact me with any questions! I am very flexible with times and locations, so feel free to talk it over with me!

I enjoy making the content relatable and meaningful to the students. I like using the background knowledge and interests of my students to enhance their learning. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Novi, MI 48374
Email verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I usually start off by doing a "trial session" with the student. In this session, I do a quick assessment and try out different activities to see what areas are my student's strengths or areas for growth. Then I work with either the student and parent to outline a curriculum for the upcoming sessions.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Bachelor's degree in Education, and I am certified to teach all subjects for elementary students and English for elementary and middle school students. I also have a minor in Teaching English as a Second Language, and I am certified for both elementary and middle school students. I have also had the chance to attend several Professional Development trainings.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

For online sessions, I charge $30 and for in-person sessions I charge $40. This is because I prepare a lot of hands-on activities for the student during in-person sessions. I also charge $35 for in-person sessions if the student will be working with a workbook or curriculum provided by the parent.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students in grades preschool through ninth grade. I have also worked with Special Needs students and ESL students. Due to the diversity of students I have had the opportunity to work with, I am flexible in any teaching environment I am placed in.


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors Classics Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Phonics Tutors Proofreading Tutors