Rockville Math And English Tutor

Rockville Math And English Tutor

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Hi, I'm Esther! I am a scientist by training (bioengineer to be specific), with a day-time job of conducting tissue engineering research. I am also a part-time math, science, and english tutor based in the Rockville area. 

I have a bachelor's in Biomedical Engineering and graudated summa cum laude, so I have an extensive background in a variety of math and science courses (including, but not limited to: Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Precalculus, Calculus I, Calculus II, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, and college-level engineering courses). During my time in undergrad, I served as a Teaching Assistant for almost 3 years (in both english and engineering classes), and I worked as a Biomedical Engineering Tutor for 1 year. 

In addition to my STEM background, I am also a prolific writer. I have been writing since I could pick up a pen and paper, and haven't stopped since! I have the most experience teaching high school english courses, specifically AP Enlish Language and AP English Literature. I have also tutored college-level courses as well, and my services include essay proofreading & editing, exam preparation, and general writing aid. I am also well-versed in standardized test preparation (SAT/ACT, AP exams, and the GRE), and can help students improve their scores with my services. 

I have been a freelance tutor for around 8 years. I started tutoring when I was in high school, and fell in love with it. Though, of course, I love being a scientist too, I am extremely passionate about helping students improve in their coursework and guiding them to where they want to be in school and in life. I truly believe that every student has potential - with hard work and guidance, anyone can achieve their goals and reach for lofty ambitions.

Please contact me if you have any questions regarding my background or my services! I look forward to working with you. :)

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Rockville, MD 20852
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Once you reach out, I typically set up a 15-30 minute phone or video consulation to gauge what areas of improvement to focus on. From there, we can personalize a plan for our tutoring sessions, then set up recurring tutoring sessions.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a B.S.E in Biomedical Engineering, graduating summa cum laude (GPA >3.8). I have also been a freelance math, english, and science tutor (not through any official tutoring company/service) for around 8 years, starting from when I was in high school. I am also a scientist and researcher by training, and thus have a lot of hands on experience with science (specifically biology and engineering) and scientific writing. Through freelance tutoring and teaching assistant positions, I have also built up experience with standardized test prep and essay proofreading/editing. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My base rate is $25/hour, though this can vary depending on the subject matter and topic complexity (i.e. high school vs. college-level coursework). At our consultation, we will discuss the pricing further once I am able to get more information regarding the student and their needs. 


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring in high school, and have not stopped since! Initially, I was helping out peers and their siblings with coursework, then started tutoring more actively when I started getting more clients through word of mouth. During college, I used this experience to become a teaching assistant, then was later hired as a tutor at the engineering tutoring center at my university. Throughout college, I also did freelance work on the side, primarily meeting new clients through word of mouth and existing students. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with a wide range of students, from middle school all the way up to college. However, my clientele usually consists of high school and college age students. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Make sure that your teacher is a good fit for you personality-wise! While subject matter fit is also important, each student has a different learning style and method of absorbing information. Try to ensure that your tutor is someone that will listen to how you like to learn and adapt a curriculum accordingly. 


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Biomedical Engineering Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Proofreading Tutors AP English Tutors Spelling Tutors