Chelsea's Math Tutoring

Chelsea's Math Tutoring

5.0 (2)
5 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

I love helping students with math--I graduated from Westfield State University with a degree in math and certifications in education. I have spent the last 2 and a half years tutoring students in a behavioral hospital setting.

I have experience with a wide variety of topics in math and I am able to help with homework or plan full lessons to help students grasp topics they struggle with. I believe that being able to visualize math is important, and I am always prepared with manipulatives, drawings, and tangible objects to make learning easier.

I value the input of parents and students and I am always open to suggestions that will benefit the student. If there are specific methods or resources you would like to use, I am happy to do so. I am easy to contact and can be available almost any week day evening with enough notice. Please reach out with any questions at all. I look forward to hearing from you.

Feel free to send me a message to see if I can be of help to you or your child. Let's schedule a lesson.

I enjoy seeing students succeed and accomplish their goals!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Holyoke, MA 01040
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Janice Fruwirth

    She was patient, professional and so helpful. She put my 12 year old son at ease and made him feel so positive about his math skills. So happy we found her!

  • Kim Kibbie

    She is a wonderful tutor and comes very well prepared. Extremely knowledgeable in her field and has the patience of a saint. I would definitely recommend her.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When I first meet a new student, I ask him or her (or a parent/guardian) what the difficult topics are. I give the student an example of such a problem to work throught so that I can identify where the student is getting stuck. We can then go from there to work through more examples in different ways until it makes sense to the student. Sometimes students need to see material presented in a different way in order to understand it.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I graduated from Westfield State Univeristy with a degree in math and certification to teach math. Since then, I have worked as a tutor in a behavioral health setting. I have worked with students of all ages there.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I typically charge $30-$40 an hour.


How did you get started teaching?

I knew I wanted to teach math from a young age. I always loved math, and I knew I wanted to help others love it too. High school was when I first began helping other students. In college, I went on to study math and education. After I was certified as a teacher, I began teaching in a behavioral health setting, which has many challeneges, but is quite rewarding. Helping those who struggle is one of my passions. I love to see students finally undertstand something they have struggled with.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students from grades K-12. I have worked with students who are extremely motivated, as well as students who are extremely oppositional and refuse to complete the work. I will patiently work with any type of student.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Students should do their best to be as specific as possible about what they are confused about and what they need help with. Students should also convey what types of instruction (pictures, tangible objects, movement, etc.) help them the most so that teachers can do the most they possibly can to help.


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Homework Help Tutors Math Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Private Tutors Study Skills Tutors