Summer Elementary Tutoring

Summer Elementary Tutoring

5.0 (2)
1 hire on Tutors.com

About this tutor

My tutoring service stands out because I am a third grade teacher by day. I have a Masters degree in Elementary Education from Simmons College and a Bachelors degree in Psychology from the University of Massachusetts.  I have dedicated my career to helping others learn and enjoy learning. I have been teaching 3rd grade for 6 years now. I know what skills young students need to have to be succesful in school, and am skilled in assessing student's needs, setting goals, and teaching them content as well as strategies. I am extremely passionate about the learning process, and love instilling that passion in young students. 

Teaching is such a challenging, yet rewarding career.  I love helping students learn and become more confident in their academic and problem solving abilities.  There is nothing more rewarding than the moment that a child starts to understand something that previously frustrated them.  

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Boston, MA 02135
Email verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Kathy Kates

    Enthusiasm of the tutor! She is also super conscientious- emailing us ahead of time to ask about what our daughter is working so she can specifically tailor the tutoring session. We highly recommend her:)

  • Brenda Williams

    Leigha showed patience when working with my son. She provided him with the support he needed in both reading and math. Working with Leigha truly helped to develop his skills but most importantly his self confidence as a student.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Typically, I will meet with a student and their guardian to discuss the families needs and schedule.  During our first session, I will collect some data and get to know the student's learning style and skills.  Then, I will set goals which will be shared with the family and we will begin our work together. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am a 3rd grade teacher and take classes and trainings yearly to stay up to date with new teaching techniques and strategies. I have a Masters degree in Elementary Education and a Bachelors degree in psychology. I have a Massachusetts Professional Teaching License for grades 1-6. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I typically charge $50 per hour for tutoring, however prices can be negotiated based on the family's needs and financial situation. 


How did you get started teaching?

I always knew I wanted to be a teacher.  When I was younger, I turned my basement into a classroom and played school constantly.  I worked at an after school program in high school and college, and got a job as an America Reads Tutor in college.  That was when I knew that the classroom was where I belonged. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with all types of students from the ages of Kindergarten - fifth grade. I have worked with students with special needs (specific learning disabilities, Autism, developmental delay, ADHD, etc.) and gifted students. Most of my experience is with students between the ages of 7-9. 


Services offered

Creative Writing Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Phonics Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors Study Skills Tutors Summer Tutors