Speech And Language Fun

Speech And Language Fun

New
Offers online services
New
Offers online services

About

I am a Purdue University graduate of the College of Sciences. I have a bachelor's degree in Speech-Language and Hearing Sciences, a minor in Human Developnment and Family Sciences. My passion is working to allow children to improve their speech and language skills. I was a Speech-Language Pathologist Assistant for 2 years at a school. During those years, I had gained experience working with kindergarten all the way to high school seniors. Specifically working with children who had speech and/or language disorders, but not excluding typically developing students. I want to continue to help children with their academic and social goals in a tutoring setting. I look forward to watching my students grow in their self-confidence as well as in their academic abilities.


Details

Hired 3 times
1 employee
3 years in business
Serves Indianapolis, IN
Offers online services

Photos and videos


  • No reviews (yet)

    Ask this tutor for references. There's no obligation to hire and we’re here to help your booking go smoothly.

    Frequently asked questions

    Typically, I like to start by getting to know my students. I want to know their interests so I can incorporate them into our lessons, making it a more personable experience.

    I earned a bachelor's degree in Speech Language and Hearing Sciences. During my college career, I worked in research labs with children as subjects. Our goal was to increase their vocabulary and language learning skills. My prior work experience includes, speech and language therapy, tutoring students in math, language, and several other subjects, coaching track and field, research assistant in an ADHD study and substitute teaching at a preschool.

    Typically I request $45-60/hr depending on the subject.

    I began teaching at a school as an SLPA after I graduated from Purdue in 2017. However, my teaching experience before graduation started in the summer of 2013 as a part-time substitute teacher in a pre-school 

    I have worked with ages 1-21. These range from typically developing kids, to special education children. I have experience with all of the following but not limited to: Life Skills, language impairment, deaf or hard of hearing, visually impaired, and speech impaired children.

    I recently worked with a child who was non-verbal at the age of 2. After months of modeling speech sound, words, and sign language, he was able to communicate is wants and needs to his parents with 3-4 word utterances. His mother heard her child say "I love you mommy" for the first time and it melted my heart!

    It is important that your teacher is personable. You will spend a lot of time working with your teacher so they need to be caring and willing to work with you to succeed!

    Can this person meet my needs?

    Will this person deliver my lesson in a fun way?

    Is this person qualified?


    Services offered

    Speech