Tutor

Tutor

New
New

About

I am a recently retired special education teacher with thirty years experience. I have a bachelors degree in special education specializing in learning disabilities, behavior and emotional disorders and cognitive impairments. I am also certified in general education grades K-6 and have a masters degree in curriculum and instruction. I spent my career teaching elementary and middle school special education students with varying degrees of learning needs, skills and disabilities. I was responsible for developing, implementing and assessing programming to fit specific student needs and learning styles. I worked with students individually, in small groups and within the general classroom. I collaborated closely with parents and teachers in order to provide students with the necessary skills to achieve academic success.

I absolutely love children of all ages, and watching them learn and grow academically and socially gives me great joy.


Details

Serves Aurora, IL

Photos and videos


  • No reviews (yet)

    Ask this tutor for references. There's no obligation to hire and we’re here to help your booking go smoothly.

    Frequently asked questions

    Before I meet my student, I will have a discussion with the parent/guardian to acquire background information regarding  their child's current and past academic progress including strengths, areas of concern and goals for their child. I would inquire about their child's attitudes and feelings toward school, themselves as a learner and how their struggles have affected their self esteem, confidence and behavior in an academic setting. I would like to know some of their interests and what motivates their child to put forth their best effort as well as their ability to handle difficult tasks. I will have a conversation with their teacher about these areas as well. I will gather information regarding curriculum, grade level expectations and the student's current progress in the area(s) of concern as well as the skills that need improvement and reinforcement. Next,  I will  determine the best approach to take in order to strengthen, reinforce and reteach skills in the area(s) of concern. Lastly and the best part, is meeting the student and getting to know each other before our work begins! 

    I have a bachelor's degree in special education with emphasis in learning disabilities, behavior and emotional disorders as well as cognitive impairments. I have a master's degree in curriculum and instruction. I retired in 2020 after 34 years of teaching. My experience includes working with students in grade levels kindergarten through middle school. 

    This can be determined once I have met and spoken to the child's parent/ guardian. 


    Services offered

    Homeschool
    Special Needs