ShivTutors

ShivTutors

5.0 (2)
5 years in business

About this tutor

Hello, my name is Shivani and I want to be your tutor! I am passionate about education and love to help students achieve their best. I have been tutoring for about 4 years now. I have a Bachelors degree in Biology from Loyola University Chicago, with a special interest in Anatomy and Physiology, Biochemistry, and Cellular Biology.

At Loyola University Chicago, I tutored undergraduate students for three years in subjects like Biology, Statistics, Chemistry, and more. I have a unique method of teaching and try to make simple analogies for my students. I understand that sometimes Biology can seem daunting and the concepts can all blend together. The vocabulary can be very unfamiliar to students, so I offer a simplified teaching method to explain things in a way that you can understand. I am very patient and I will answer all the questions you have without any judgment. I know how hard some of these concepts can be, so I am here to help you.

I am currently working on my Doctorate degree to become a dentist. I have a very extensive background on Biology topics and have been studying it for almost 8 years! I am confident that we can work together to gain a better understanding of these topics. I will be patient, kind, and timely in order to get you the best help that you deserve!

I love tutoring and teaching because I know the value of a good tutor. Growing up, I was inspired by a tutor who was of tremendous value to me. My tutor was one of the reasons for my success now. I want to help students gain a new level of confidence in their abilities. I know how discouraging it can feel when you need help with school. I also know how rewarding it feels when something just clicks for a student and they understand something that they initially felt was impossible. Teaching and tutoring is not a job for me, it is something I am very passionate about.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Chicago, IL 60616
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Sarah Zimmerman

    Shivani is AMAZING!!! She really does take the time to go through the material and make sure you understand it. She first figures out at what level you know the material and how you learn. Then, she caters her teaching style towards your needs. She SAVED my Bio 102 grade, and I'm definitely going to her with Cell Biology.

  • Asha

    My son is four years old who is hyper kid. Tutor was patient with my son. She is excellent tutor and I am really happy with he teaching style.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I think it is very important to first gauge how overwhelmed or stressed a student is currently. I know how it feels to be overwhelmed and feel like there's just too much to learn. I am here to help you get past this feeling. It's also necessary to get an overall idea of what is working for the student, and what is not. Every student starts off at a different level, and I want to know where you stand with the material currently. This will help me target my teaching to your specific needs. I know that students are busy, so I dont want to waste their time on things they already know. Instead, I want to spend as much time as possible helping you work through things you need help with! I am kind and patient. I will not pass judgement on what you need help with- there are NO dumb questions!


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have been a tutor for almost four years now. I was hired by Loyola University Chicago in 2016 as a student tutor. I have worked with hundreds of college students to help excel in their science courses and I am confident I can help you too. Since then, I have extensive experience doing one-on-tutoring, as well as group tutoring. I was also a Supplemental Instructor for Biology 101 and Biology 102 for two years at Loyola University Chicago.

I graduated in 2018 with a 3.8 GPA with a Bacherlors of Science in Biology at Loyola University Chicago. After this, I took an exam called the DAT (similar to the MCAT) which tests Biology, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Reading and Math. I scored in the top 98th percenton this exam and gained admission to dental school. Currently, I am working towards my Doctor of Medicine in Dentistry (DMD) degree. I have been studying biology and realted topics like chemistry, biochemistry, and Anatomy for almost 8 years. I am very familiar with all the topics and concepts that are covered in highschool level and college level Biology courses.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

1 hour- $20.00

2 hours- $40.00

3 hours- $60.00

Personalized hours accepted by request.


How did you get started teaching?

I started teaching because I love educating students. My goals after dental school include teaching as a professor for a university near me. Teaching is not a job for me, it is a passion!


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students ranging from middle school to college students. I can teach Math, Reading, Science (Biology, Chemistry, Anatomy, Cell Biology, and more), and Writing. I can also help students edit and write personal statements, review essays for college admissions, and more!


Services offered

AP Biology Tutors Biology Tutors Anatomy Tutors Physiology Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Handwriting Tutors Grammar Tutors Proofreading Tutors Spelling Tutors Writing Tutors DAT Test Prep Tutors College Admissions Coaches Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Geometry Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Trigonometry Tutors


Nearby Biology Tutors