Bagwell Tutoring

Bagwell Tutoring

5.0 (2)
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I'm currently a student at Georgia Tech pursuing a degree in chemical engineering. Over the years I have learned problem solving strategies, test taking skills, and study skills. What works for one student might not necessarily work for another, and I am dedicated to helping students figure out what works best for them and how they can be successful. In addition, I have 3 years of tutoring experience and have tutored chemistry, AP chemistry, biology, and AP biology to high school students.

The best thing about tutoring is the moment when the topic finally clicks. School can be overwhelming and challenging, and I enjoy helping others figure out what works for them, how they can be successful, and how they can grow and continuously develop their skills. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Atlanta, GA 30332
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Jada Screen

    Mathis tutored me in Algebra 1 my sophomore year. Not only did she assist me in improving my overall grade, but she helped me to understand the material in a way that I could remember. Usually tutors only go over the material you are learning every session, but Mathis made sure that we touched on the prior units too. She wanted to guarantee that I understood the material. She was also very flexible when it came to scheduling, which helped a lot since I was always busy with sports and etc. Mathis was definitely one of the best tutors I’ve had yet.

  • Hana Andrew

    Wanted to make sure I completely understood concepts. Was willing to put in the work that it took for me to understand, whether that meant more work for her or not :)



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When working with a new student, I typically ask them where they are now, where they want to be in the future, what their biggest struggles are currently, and what they would like to accomplish through tutoring. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am currently a chemical engineering major at georgia tech and have taken a variety of chemistry, biology, and math classes. (Including: general chemistry I & II, biology, chemical processing principles, biochemistry I , organic chemistry I, genetics, linear algebra, and calculus I & II). In addition to the classes I've taken at Tech, I also have 4 years of tutoring experience. 


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring when I was a freshman in high school as a volunteer because my biology teacher asked me to do it. I quickly fell in love with it, and tutored many students over the years.


What types of students have you worked with?

Most of my experience is with high school students taking math, chemistry, english, and biology. I have tutored AP courses as well, including AP Chemistry, AP Calculus, and AP Biology. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Find someone who is approchable, who you will feel comfortable working with, and someone that will accomodate whatever you need. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What are your biggest areas of struggle, including content and study habits? What are your goals and what do you hope to accomplish within the time you have with your tutor? What study habits or test taking skills are your weaknesses and what do you want to improve upon?


Services offered

AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Chemical Engineering Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Basic Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Biochemistry Tutors Genetics Tutors ACT Science Help Tutors PSAT Tutors SAT Math Tutors SAT Test Prep