Kathryn's STEM Tutoring

Kathryn's STEM Tutoring

5.0 (1)

About this tutor

I am a student looking to help other students!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Pompano Beach, FL 33071
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Damian Badia

    Kathryn was my tutor at FIU for General Chemistry. She motivated me to want to succeed in the class, while challenging me to learn new material. She is extremely patient with her students and truly enjoys helping students learn.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When working with new students, I like to begin by getting to know them so both parties are comfortable. Following, I try to access how much the student knows in order to provide the best assistance before beginning work. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Currently I am a Junior at Florida International University working towards a B.S. in Biology, Minor in Chemistry. I work as a General Chemistry tutor at FIU. The main aspects of this job includes: assisting students in interactive worksheets in class, and leading private/group tutoring sessions, which I have been doing for one year. 

I have completed over 90 of my 120 credits, and below list the pertinent class I have completed.

General Chemistry 1 & 2 

Calculus 1

Biology 1 & 2

Organic Chemistry 1 & 2


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Although I do not have a standard pricing system, my hourly rate is typically $10-15 per/hour dependent on the subject, age, and hours desired. 

Generally, 

Basic Math and Sciences: 10 per/hr*

     - Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1, Earth Space Science, etc. 

Advanced Math and Sciences: 12 per/hr*

      - Algebra 2, Geometry, Calculus, Pre-Biology, Biology 1 &            2, Chemistry, Chemistry Honors, etc. 

College Level: $12-15 per/hour*

      - Calculus 1, General Chemistry 1 & 2, Organic Chemistry 1

Subjects are not limited to what is listed above, they are purely suggestions

*Prices are determined on a case by case basis. The rate will be determined prior to sessions. 


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring as a means of mastering my General Chemistry skills, but quickly fell in love with working with students and seeing the "light-bulb" moment. 


What types of students have you worked with?

College Students

High School Students


Services offered