College Student

College Student

5.0(4 reviews)
Offers online services
Offers online services


I am enthusiastic! I love working with people, and I enjoy the topics I am offering to tutor in. I am also understanding of the student's perspective, because I am still a student myself. Enthusiasm in a teacher is something I have found important in my own learning. In college as well as high school, I have always felt the most engaged in classes with teachers who are passionate about their lessons. Bringing energy and excitement is important to hold attention. I strive to do this every time I meet with a student.

I am also looking to learn through this experience. I want to adapt to the student's learning style. Being able to share knowledge and help others is such a special gift. I would like to give back what I can.

Because I tutor online, I have found that I am more available to students. There have been many times when one of my students had a last minute question about an assignment was due, and we were able to get on the phone and work it out in the same day. I want to be accessible, and the internet allows me to do that.

I enjoy the student/tutor relationship. We both learn from one another and benefit from the experience.

Another alluring aspect of tutoring is the creativity involved. It is critical that each lesson is stimulating and thought-provoking. In order to pull this off, a tutor needs to be creative. I love brainstorming new ways to teach lessons. I often find or create games that have to do with the topics we are studying. This job is fun for me


Hired 7 times
1 employee
3 years in business
Serves Washington, DC
Offers online services

Payment methods

Venmo, Paypal, Zelle

Social media

Photos and videos

  • Reviews

    0 reviews

    paul M.

    Gari is a great tutor. She keeps lessons engaging. My son really appreciated her help. She also works hard to make herself available. I would recommend her!
    ... Show more
    March 18, 2023

    Samantha B.

    Gari is amazing! She is patient and kind with my 3rd grader, who struggles with anxiety surrounding school work and isnt always easy to work with. Gari is communicative, punctional, and comes prepared for tutoring sessions. Not only did my daughters math grade improve, but her confidence in herself did too!
    ... Show more
    March 09, 2023

    Beverly K.

    Gari is a very patient instructor whose task was to work with my 13YO who has focus issues. She is highly professional and comes to each session with a lesson plan. If your child is apprehensive about “extra help,” consider Gari. She will win over your child while helping them stay on top of their work.
    ... Show more
    November 12, 2020

    Meyer L.

    I was having difficulty with an essay for school, but then I asked Gari for assistance
    . She helped me rethink the structure along with editing some of my grammar, and I walked away feeling much better about it. She was incredibly supportive and had lots of constructive feedback that she communicated to me in a way that helped me understand why it was good advice. In the end, I got an A on the paper, and I definitely couldn’t have done it without the help I received. It was a 100% productive and pleasant encounter.
    ... Show more
    June 17, 2020

    Frequently asked questions

    I want to get to know my students and their personal learning style. It is important for me to be able to go at the right pace and to meet the student's understanding. Before diving into a lesson, I would like to take the time to talk to the student. I want to make sure that they are not only absorbing the information I give them, but also enjoying the time we are spending on that information. Students need to work extra hard on topics that are difficult for them, and it is harder to do so when they are not motivated. 

    I graduated from Georgetown Day High School in Washington, DC in 2020. I currently attend Vassar College in Poughkeepsie, NY. I took math all through high school, and I have continued in college. I got a 5 on the AP Calculus AB Exam. I had four years of AP level English in high school, and I have continued with a writing seminar in college. My major is undeclared, but I plan to minor in Spanish. In high school, I also took AP courses in biology, psychology and Spanish. I received 4s on the biology and psychology AP exams, and a 3 on the Spanish exam. 

    Outside of class work, I have a passion for music. I have been playing classical piano since I was 5 years old. This has taught me discipline and the value of practicing regularly. 

    I have worked as a camp counselor (after years of training), so I have experience working with children of all ages. I have also helped people out at school, so I am able to work with peers as well.

    I usually charge $40 for an hour and $25-30 for 30-45 minute sessions depending, but I want to make myself accessible, so these rates are flexible.  

    Services offered

    Reading And Writing Tutoring