Elementary Tutoring

Elementary Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

My name is Racheal and I am a 29-year-old Kindergarten Teacher from West Haven, CT. I have been teaching Kindergarten for 2 years now in Derby. I am a dual-certified teacher; I can teach general education grades K-6 and Special Education grades K-12. Previous to being a Kindergarten teacher, I was a Special Education teacher for 3 years after working as a Behavior Therapist. I have always wanted to be a teacher ever since I started school myself back in Kindergarten. Working with kids, teaching them, and being involved with their development has been a life-long passion that has shaped my career and the mission I set forth for my students in or out of the classroom. I am all about developing fun, engaging, hands-on learning based activities that keep minds learning without the kids even knowing that they are working! 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

West Haven, CT 06516
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

The most important component to working with a new student is to get to know them. I believe that it is vital to establish a rapport before jumping right into the demands of work. A child is more reluctant to complete a task when they feel comfortable with you and trust you. After developing rapport with a child through games and engaging activities, I would teach the same skills various ways (hands on, paper/pencil, auditory vs. visual) so that I could feel out the best way that the child I am working with learns. I would then develop appropriate lessons according to their individual learning style and needs. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am a certified K-6 Elementary School Teacher and a K-12 Special Education Teacher. I was a behavior therapist for a Special Education school for 1 year prior to becoming a Special Education teacher for grades K-2 there for two years. I transfered to a public elementary school where I was a self-contained Special Education teacher for grades K-2 for one year. I transfered within the same school to a Kindergarten position that is an inclusive classroom (special education and regular education). I have been teaching Kindergarten for two years. I am also currently tutoring a 6th grade student since April 2018 one day a week.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I start at $30 an hour for local students. If travel is required, I will increase the price $5 per 5 miles from my home town. 


How did you get started teaching?

I knew I wanted to be a teacher since I started school in Pre-School. I fell in love with learning and knew at a young age that I wanted to grow up and go to SCSU for teaching. When I graduated high school, I went to SCSU and completed a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology. Directly following graduation, I attended The University of Bridgeport for my Masters in Elementary Education. A year later, I completed a cross-endorsement program for a dual certification on my license in Special Education.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with all types of students being both a Special Education teacher and a general education teacher. I have worked with students with various disabilities (autism spectrum disorders, learning disabilities, oppositional defiance, anxiety, emotional disturbances, developmental delayed), typical peers, and gifted students requiring material from higher grade levels.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Something recent that has happened is one of my current students came into Kindergarten not being able to recognize their name, write their name, or identify any letters or sounds. Within the first 20 days, this student can now identify and write their first name and identify 14 letters! This made me and that student VERY PROUD!


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

You want to feel comfortable and that you can accomplish anything with your teacher/tutor. Choose someone that you can be serious with, trust, and laugh with!


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What kind of learner are you? Visual, auditory, kinesthetic, etc.?

What about the material are you having difficulty?

What areas are your strengths in?