Pre-Medical High School And College Tutor

Pre-Medical High School And College Tutor

5.0 (1)
2 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

I work with students, both in high school and college, who have goals of medical school or the sciences and need a little assistance along the way!

I myself am a pre-medical student, recently graduated from the University of Rochester, and I know the pressures of those tough science and math classes. Despite me naturally struggling as a test-taker, I graduated college in a neuroscience and dance double major with a 3.82, cum laude honors. I hope to help other students to achieve the same level of success so they can set themselves up for an amazing careeer in the sciences.

My areas of expertise for subjects are neuroscience, math (up to Calculus II), biology, biochemistry, genetics, physics (up to electricity and magnetism), chemistry, and organic chemistry. I also have tutored in the past for ACT, SAT subject exams, and have MCAT experience as well. 

I also have 3 years of research experience, in a variety of different clinical and wet lab settings, and can help students set up job and internship opportunities if wanted as well.

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/lydia-currie-463930151/

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Stamford, CT 06903
Email verified

1 Review

5.0

  • AnnMarie Anderson

    Lydia is awesome!! She really knows her stuff and how to make the material accessible! My daughter went from a C- to an A in the same quarter in Honors Chemistry. I would highly recommend her!!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I will start with an initial introductory meeting to get to know the student and how they best like to learn. Next, we will set weekly goals of what the student wants to accomplish using the SMART goals process (specific, measurable, achievable, relavent, and timely goals). This will allow the student to strive for new goals every week, and keep motivation high during busy and uncertain times. We will also take a look at progress every month or so to visualize how far the the student has come, and where we still would like to get to. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a B.S. in Neuroscience and a B.A. in Dance Studies from the University of Rochester, and am a pre-medical student currently applying to medical schools. 

I have formal tutoring training from Zaniac Learning in Greenwich, CT, and have been privately tutoring students of all ages from 2014 onward. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Typically I charge $20/hour for virtual, and $30/h for in-person tutoring. However, I am willing to negotiate depending on the needs of the student. 


Services offered

Chemistry Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Physics Tutors Biochemistry Tutors Biology Tutors Cell Biology Tutors Evolution Tutors Genetics Tutors Human Development Tutors Neurobiology Tutors Neuroscience Tutors Physiology Tutors Science Tutors Thermochemistry Tutoring Help Thermodynamics Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors