Math & Science Tutoring From A Professor

Math & Science Tutoring From A Professor

5(1 review)
Offers online services
Offers online services


Hi, I'm Jill! I have had more than 14 years of tutoring experience in addition to 13 years of teaching at the college and university level and I'm excited to work with you in a variety of subjects. I love explaining how math and science concepts work to a student and helping them understand the world around them.

In addition to my extensive tutoring experience, I am a tenured full-time faculty at a local community college.

I have a Master's degree in geology from Arizona State University (I lived in Arizona for 9 years before moving to LA in 2014) and a Bachelor's degree in both biology and geology from the University of Western Ontario. My tutoring experience is very diversified, and includes science, math, test preparation, and English. I am also very comfortable tutoring AP Environmental Science (not listed on the list of possible subjects!) My educational background has given me excellent language and grammar skills, as well as a strong foundation in math and science. I love being able to help a student understand a subject with which they have previously struggled. I have tutored students in most math and science courses, and I am comfortable with all grade levels, from elementary school to college. If you're curious about test scores, I received a 1490 (out of 1600) on the SAT 1, 760 on the SAT II Biology, and a 800 on both the SAT II Math and Writing subject tests.

My teaching style varies according to the individual needs of the student. My main goal is to help the student become enthusiastic about the specific subject or activity, and confident in their ability to interpret what a question is actually asking. I am very flexible, and will tailor the curriculum and evaluation methods based on discussions with the student.

If you need last minute help for a test or exam I will do my best to accommodate you, however please be aware that I may charge an increased rate for short-notice scheduling. I also do group tutoring sessions, and am happy to discuss timing and rates for those with you!


1 employee
14 years in business
Serves Sherman Oaks , CA
Offers online services

Payment methods

Cash, Venmo, Paypal, Zelle

Photos and videos

  • On top of Vulcano!

  • Reviews

    0 reviews

    mikele G.

    The tutor kept me focused and made the subject interesting.
    ... Show more
    January 30, 2023

    Frequently asked questions

    I have a Bachelor's of Science in Biology & Geology, as well as a MS in Geology.
    In general I have a flat hourly rate, but if students are interested in setting a long term schedule with at least a couple meetings per week we can definitely work on that. Also, I will do small groups for an increased rate.
    I began tutoring in 2009 to make some extra money, and realized that I really enjoyed it. I am so proud of what my students have accomplished, and I still stay in touch with some of them.

    Services offered

    Test Prep Tutoring